Jeep will crank, spontaneously quit. - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 11-04-2009, 06:44 PM Thread Starter
bludragon88cher
1988 XJ Cherokee 

Jeep will crank, spontaneously quit.

I own a 1988 Jeep Cherokee Pioneer with a V6, 4.0L Engine. Far as I know, it still has mostly original parts.

Here's the deal:

We were driving toward the next large town in WV. My boyfriend had to hit the breaks quickly to avoid some object in the road. After moving around said object, the jeep suddenly quit. What I mean by that is the motor stopped, but the radio, lights, everything else was still running fine, no significant dimming. We tried to get it to start back after drifting into a parking lot of a church that happened to be right by the road and it will NOT crank. It is acting like it's not either getting enough fuel or something. It's firing far as I know, but won't start in P or N.

Although I'm not a mechanic, I was assuming it was "maybe" the timing belt/chain or the Fuel pump/injector. Usually, I can get a good notion as to what is wrong, but I just don't know how to fix it.

Uh... help? If someone knows more than me about this, or needs details or whatever, reply. I'm watching this thread via e-mail and will reply when I can.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 11-04-2009, 06:50 PM
xjfever
Web Wheeler

1995 XJ Cherokee 

Try spraying some starting fluid into the air intake tube that connects to the throttle body. If it starts momentairily you have a fuel issue, if it doesn't test for spark. Let us know what you find. And you have the I6 engine, not V6. I assume it is turning over just not starting correct?

1. '95 XJ country edition, 4" coils/3/4" spacers, HD leafs with extra main added in, Ironman adjustable control arms, rough country shackles, aussie locker, JK rubicon shocks, 35" mudder's, soft 8's, cobra cb