Cluster swap - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 10-31-2010, 01:42 PM Thread Starter
Worshers
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chapel Hil
Posts: 209
Cluster swap

whats up guys.

so i have the idiot dash will all lights and 2 big gauges. i wanna do a swap to a normal one that i found on ebay and it looks the same and its the same year. 99-01. i have an 01. my only question is how does the tac work? i have a 5 spd with the shift light and so how is that going to hook up to the normal tach? then everything else will jsut plug right in, correct?

thanks guys

Worshers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 10-31-2010, 06:54 PM
Nick_Knipp
Registered User
 
Nick_Knipp's Avatar
1986 MJ Comanche 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Warner Robins, Georgia
Posts: 1,947
i dont think everything will plug in just like that, there might be some sensors that need installing. im sure someone else will come by soon for more help

"Don't curse in your profile"
-The Moderators
'86 MJ XLS 4x4 2.8L 3spd longbed buckets
'12 MK Sport 2.4L AT rescue green
Nick_Knipp is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 11-01-2010, 07:31 AM Thread Starter
Worshers
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chapel Hil
Posts: 209
alright. i mean i heard that on 97+ models you dont need new sensors but i dont know
Worshers is offline  
 
post #4 of 12 Old 11-01-2010, 01:03 PM
scott_jeep
Registered User
1996 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 448
You are correct that on the 97+ you don't need new sending units however I'm not sure about the tach, specifically the shift light. I know on autos the tach "just works" when you plug in the new cluster so I would assume it's the same but not sure about the light.
scott_jeep is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 11-01-2010, 04:31 PM Thread Starter
Worshers
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chapel Hil
Posts: 209
alright. cool. i may get one soon. im hoping it will work.
Worshers is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 11-03-2010, 05:35 PM Thread Starter
Worshers
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chapel Hil
Posts: 209
does anyone know if the mileage will change itself or will i have to change it? also will the tach "just work" even though i have a 5 spd?
Worshers is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 11-03-2010, 05:44 PM
Millermagic
Registered User
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,027
The mileage sticks with the cluster.

I have wondered if you can switch over the odometer part between clusters ...

2000 XJ - 3.5'' Lift & Skinny Mudders.
Previous: A CJ, Few TJs and JK.
Millermagic is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 11-03-2010, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Worshers
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chapel Hil
Posts: 209
i dont konw. but me and my buddy can switch it illegally

hahah you know anything about the tach though? i have a shift light. so its most likely reading my rpms
Worshers is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 11-04-2010, 11:28 AM
Millermagic
Registered User
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 2,027
Well if you switch clusters and don't try to play with the odometer chip/chips ... the mileage is going to change anyway.

The shift light uses the TPS, MAP and RPM to tell you when to shift. Senses the throttle position, vacuum pressure and the RPM to try and save gas. The computer knows the RPM regardless of whether or not the engine has a tac

2000 XJ - 3.5'' Lift & Skinny Mudders.
Previous: A CJ, Few TJs and JK.
Millermagic is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-04-2010, 03:51 PM Thread Starter
Worshers
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chapel Hil
Posts: 209
Quote:
Well if you switch clusters and don't try to play with the odometer chip/chips ... the mileage is going to change anyway.

The shift light uses the TPS, MAP and RPM to tell you when to shift. Senses the throttle position, vacuum pressure and the RPM to try and save gas. The computer knows the RPM regardless of whether or not the engine has a tac
word thanks. so the mileage will change to my current mileage. its a digital read so. i am assuming the computer will tell it to fix it.
Worshers is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 11-04-2010, 05:46 PM
XJdamyankee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Greensboro,Nc
Posts: 489
Here is a write up for changine out the 97+ cluster
https://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f11/9...up-how-752630/

96 cherkoee SE I-6 AW-4 np231 dana30/chrys 8.25
Doug Thorley Tri-Y header/magnaflow cat/rustys FM50 exhaust
Kumho KL71's 31x10.5x15 mounted on rock crusher 15x8 w/4.5"BS black D-window
OME 2" lift & shocks, RE super-ride control arms
XJdamyankee is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 11-04-2010, 06:02 PM Thread Starter
Worshers
Registered User
2001 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Chapel Hil
Posts: 209
does the ecu on the jeep store the miles or is it in the cluster?
Worshers is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
87 xj cluster swap the87XJkid XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 4 08-10-2009 09:27 PM
cluster swap Do It xj XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 2 11-27-2007 08:26 AM
Cluster swap for '98 XJ... direct swap? TheDon427 XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 4 09-10-2007 07:49 PM
OEM Cluster Swap ? boredcherokee4l XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 20 09-07-2007 06:03 PM
XJ Cluster Swap TwistedXJ XJ Cherokee Technical Forum 1 08-06-2007 09:58 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome