88 xj fuel pump issues. help! - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-20-2016, 02:51 AM Thread Starter
mrabernathy

88 xj fuel pump issues. help!

hey guys, im new to the fourms but hopfully someone can shed some light on my issue.

I own an 1988 jeep xj, 4 door. 5 speed, 4x4. lifeted about 6.5" on 35s. have only had it about 2 months. ran great until i decided to repair the floor pans due to rust. so i got rid of all the carpet, took all the interior out, dropped the gas tank to patch some holes in the trunk area. got all the floor pans replaced, bedlinered the inside, and installed all the interior back, it looks great. i wire brushed the outside of the fuel tank, and painted it black. i undercoated the jeep aswell. well i went to reinstall the fuel tank and everything and it wont crank

i dont exactly hear the fuel pump runnning like i do on my comanche.
i checked the wiring harness for power with a test light, and no power going to the harness, checked it under the back seat.
checked the relay under the hood on the passenger fender and changed it.
checked all fuses under the dash for bad ones, all are good.
i need to check for power going to the ballist resistor in the driver side fender i guess, should have 12v going in, and 6v coming out right?
i know my comanche has a ground in the drivers tailight for the fuel pump to work, does the cherokee have a ground for the pump anywhere? ive been told its grounded to the tank itself.
MY FUEL GAUGE DID WORK HOWEVER! dooes this mean i am getting power to the pump? and possibly the pump itself is bad?