Underhood switched 12V 2012 Patriot - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Compass & Patriot Forum > Underhood switched 12V 2012 Patriot

Jeep speedometer gears at rockridge4wdDana 30 Truss for your TJ, LJ, ZJ, and XJClayton Off Road JK Long Arm Upgrade Kits!

Reply
Unread 06-26-2012, 08:25 PM   #1
bburkett
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Summerhill, PA
Posts: 3
Underhood switched 12V 2012 Patriot

Can anyone tell me where I can cleanly and easily connect to switched 12V under the hood of my 2012 Patriot Limited? I could get it out of the power module (fuse box) under the hood, but I would have to cut into the housing. I am hoping there is an open connector available.

I need to power a relay when the ignition switch is on acc or run.

Thanks,
Bob

bburkett is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-27-2012, 04:24 PM   #2
dirkdiggler106
Registered User
2012 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adirondacks, UpstateNY
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by bburkett View Post
Can anyone tell me where I can cleanly and easily connect to switched 12V under the hood of my 2012 Patriot Limited? I could get it out of the power module (fuse box) under the hood, but I would have to cut into the housing. I am hoping there is an open connector available.

I need to power a relay when the ignition switch is on acc or run.

Thanks,
Bob
Just run a wire into one of the fuse boxes and use something like this:

(they make them for most kinds of fuses)
look in the manual or maybe a service manual to find a free spot that has switched power... or play around with a test light. Or choose something that wouldent be adversly affected like the power point fuse...
Good luck!
__________________
RIP MY JEEPS... 1998-TJ 1992-XJ 1999-TJ 1994-XJ 1998-ZJ... All were lifted and locked...
dirkdiggler106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-29-2012, 07:30 PM   #3
bburkett
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Summerhill, PA
Posts: 3
The fuse box cover under the hood has a weatther-proof seal on it and I would have to cut or drill in to it...
I am still searching for a good point to tap in to existing wire... brand new (only 1200 miles) so I want to be careful where I tap in..
Thanks,
Bob
bburkett is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-30-2012, 10:55 AM   #4
FujativeOCR
Registered User
2011 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newfoundland, Center of the Universe
Posts: 878
What are you Installing again? Is the relay the only thing being powered? I'm just thinking that if you tap into an existing circuit it will increase the load on that circuit. The existing fuse might not be enough then.
FujativeOCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.