Tire pressure - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Compass & Patriot Forum > Tire pressure

Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits Rough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!Looking to re-gear?! CRAZY DEALS ON YUKON GEARS right here

Reply
Unread 04-01-2012, 08:49 PM   #1
CompRuss
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Cape May Court House, NJ
Posts: 12
Tire pressure

Ode anyone know if there is a fuze that supplies the tire pressure alarm. I changed my stock rims out for some wrangler rims and they don't have the pressure readers in the valve steams. I just want to turn it off for now.

CompRuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-02-2012, 12:20 PM   #2
miketmx
Registered User
2008 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 257
I don't believe there is a fuse because everyone would remove it if it existed. I have plain jane steel wheels without sensors for my winter tires and I put a patch of black electric tape on the dash to hide the stupid TPMS idiot light. When I get new winter tires next year I may get aftermarket sensors installed on the wheels.
miketmx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-02-2012, 01:13 PM   #3
JeepCares
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MOPAR World Headquarters, Chrysler Group LLC
Posts: 2,288
It's a safety feature required by the government in the TREAD act. "They" are not going to make it easy to defeat.
__________________
Lee
U.S. Top Care
Chrysler Group LLC
JeepCares is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-05-2012, 08:33 AM   #4
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 5,623
There is no fuse or 'off' feature on these that I'm aware of, we've looked. I bought some Dorman aftermarket sensors that haven't learned on there own and it's been about a month since I've installed the new tires and wheels. I may have to make a trip to the dealer to have this procedure performed.

The following can be performed by your dealer or a service shop with the correct tools.
Perform one of the following to make the system learn the new sensor ID.
a. Use the TPM-RKE Analyzer, Special Tool 9936, with the Scan Tool to program the WCM/SKREEM with the tire pressure sensor ID. This is part of the TPM Diagnostic Verification Test.
b. Once the vehicle has remained stationary for more than 20 minutes, drive vehicle for a minimum of 10 minutes while maintaining a continuous speed above 15 mph (24 km/h). During this time, the system will learn the new sensor ID. This is part of the TPM Diagnostic Verification Test.
NOTE: If a sensor cannot be trained, refer to appropriate diagnostic information.
__________________
Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.