post #1 of Old 05-13-2012, 11:34 PM Thread Starter
ronjr8102
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Worcester
Posts: 34
replacement for factory sub

Fist off I don't know anything about sound systems so please help. I have a 07 with the BA sound system.The sub is blown and wondering if I could just buy a cheap sub to replace it with? I also noticed that there is four wires for the sub and as far as I know dont subs have only two connections? So does tha tmean I cant replace it with an aftermarket sub?

ronjr8102 is offline  
post #2 of Old 05-14-2012, 07:36 AM
FujativeOCR
Registered User
2011 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 884
Dual Voice Coil subs have 2 sets of connections on them. I wouldnt think a factory sub would be that though. Gramps posted a link in one of the other recent stereo threads to some pics of the sub box and how to remove it. I'm not sure it has the standard 8 screws a normal sub has. Also the factory amp is only 90 watts, and the sub I think is an 8".
FujativeOCR is offline  
post #3 of Old 05-14-2012, 07:42 AM
FujativeOCR
Registered User
2011 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gramps
Here's some pics of the sub enclosure. Just pull off the side panel and there it is held on by 3 screws.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f98/b...estion-432143/
Heres the link
FujativeOCR is offline  
post #4 of Old 05-14-2012, 09:56 PM Thread Starter
ronjr8102
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Worcester
Posts: 34
I got the sub enclosure out and the sub out of it.
Was wondering if I could get an aftermarket sub to replace it with?
ronjr8102 is offline  
post #5 of Old 05-14-2012, 10:35 PM
FujativeOCR
Registered User
2011 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newfoundland
Posts: 884
I dont see why not? If it has the standard 8 screw hole pattern. Were all four wires connected to the sub after you got it out? One of the logistic problems of buying a replacement is figureing out what impedence to get...4 ohm or 8 ohm....to properly match the amp. With a voltmeter and a new factory sub you could test and see what the stock one was....but since its blown that won't work. If I had to guess I'd imagine a 4 ohm sub would work...but thats a guess.
FujativeOCR is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Antenna Mount (factory) snood Jeep Compass & Patriot Forum 3 06-15-2010 08:53 AM
1.8 Billion for Jeep Factory retooling geopa Jeep Compass & Patriot Forum 0 08-13-2008 05:54 PM
Uconnect For A Factory No Factory Install 229bonehead Jeep Compass & Patriot Forum 1 08-10-2008 09:46 PM
Patriot Factory Tow Harness Install Hinterlander Jeep Compass & Patriot Forum 2 05-12-2008 12:30 PM
factory stereo trouble haasamanizer Jeep Compass & Patriot Forum 1 06-22-2007 12:14 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome