Remote Starter Systems - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Compass & Patriot Forum > Remote Starter Systems

WJ Modular Recovery & Bull Bar Relocation PackagesRough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!Steinjager TJ tube doors

Reply
Unread 04-06-2008, 03:24 PM   #1
Wade
Registered User
2008 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 19
Remote Starter Systems

My wife informs me today, "Summer heat is just a few weeks away. Can we put a remote starter system in my Compass so the AC will be on when I get in it?"

I don't necessarily need the MOPAR brand. Has anyone installed an after market remote starter system in either a Compass or Patriot?

Wade is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2008, 04:14 PM   #2
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 5,623
There are 2 different ones from MOPAR depending on whether you have the Security System or not. The one for the Security System needs to have your computer reprogrammed to work correctly. I'm not sure if the other system requires that and I haven't checked aftermarket availability either.
__________________
Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-07-2008, 05:33 PM   #3
Wade
Registered User
2008 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 19
Thanks Bob.... Still looking at after market brands.... So many choices...
Wade is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-21-2008, 06:58 AM   #4
Nabis
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 49
I have the Viper 571XV on the Compass - Works great.
http://www.viper.com/Products/Produc...?ProductID=114
Nabis is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-08-2008, 10:31 AM   #5
ryotito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: highland falls
Posts: 6
Remote start

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabis View Post
I have the Viper 571XV on the Compass - Works great.
http://www.viper.com/Products/Produc...?ProductID=114
did you have to cut any cables?

How easy is the installation?
ryotito is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-08-2008, 01:20 PM   #6
ryotito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: highland falls
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nabis View Post
I have the Viper 571XV on the Compass - Works great.
http://www.viper.com/Products/Produc...?ProductID=114
Do you have the factory DVD Nav.
My Unit does not auto dim and the dealer wont fix it.
I can manual engage only when I am not driving because of the security feature!!! "What a junk"
ryotito is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-2008, 07:14 PM   #7
beast9296
Registered User
2005 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: pa
Posts: 5
i got an 08 compass o4 grand cherokee and an 00 grand cherokee. on all 3 of them i put the compu star on. 900 series. works great. has alarm remote start blue tooth clock, and has timer on it to let you know how long it will shut off automatically. im not sure of the distance it will start but i know its over 200 yards away for a fact. its definately a great system. plus the customer support is free and the codes if you have problems. some of the aftermarket make you pay for their codes.
beast9296 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.