Placing an amp and running wires (Patriot) - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 06-08-2007, 08:53 PM Thread Starter
websurrfr
Registered User
2007 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: washington
Posts: 18
Placing an amp and running wires (Patriot)

This question is for anyone who has added an amp to their aftermarket speakers. Where did you put it and where did you run the wires? I've been coming up short on places to hide the wires if I put an amp under a seat. Thanks.

websurrfr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 06-08-2007, 09:01 PM
zxjockey
Registered User
2007 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sterling Heights, MI
Posts: 39
Out of curiosity, are you putting the amp under a front seat? I'm preparing to do it myself and I don't know yet whether there is a cavity under the rear seats.
zxjockey is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 06-08-2007, 09:41 PM
eighteenwheeler
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Chester
Posts: 81
depending on the amp size, the extra space around the spare tire is a good place to hide one...

01 Jeep TJ
Plus 9 other less durable vehicles from Italy, Germany, and 'Merica
eighteenwheeler is online now  
post #4 of 14 Old 06-09-2007, 12:19 AM Thread Starter
websurrfr
Registered User
2007 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: washington
Posts: 18
First reply- I was thinking under the front seats would be one of the few places I could do it because I don't think there is a cavity under the rear seats.

Second reply- I assume you mean under the removable panel? I had thought about that but I was worried about heat dissipation and being able to run the wires stealthily. I guess I'll have to spend some more time studying the interior of the vehicle or get advice from an installer around here.
websurrfr is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 06-09-2007, 06:45 AM
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville
Posts: 5,623
From the Service Manual:

The optional premium speaker system includes a separate audio power amplifier. The amplifier is located on the floor behind the spare tire in the trunk.

REMOVAL

1. Disconnect and isolate the battery negative cable.
2. Remove the retaining fasteners.
3. Disconnect the wire harness connector.
4. Remove the amplifier (1).
Attached Images
 

Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 06-09-2007, 12:21 PM
snood
Registered User
 
snood's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 127
just curious what size sub is in the compass...
jeeps website says 18inch for the patriot but nothing for the compass


i originally thought it was an 8 inch and i have an 8 inch JL 2 ohm sub i was thinking about putting in instead
snood is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 06-09-2007, 02:07 PM Thread Starter
websurrfr
Registered User
2007 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: washington
Posts: 18
I think that's a typo on the jeep website. I think it's an 8 inch subwoofer, not 18 inch. I don't even think you can get an 18 inch subwoofer in a car.


So gramps, thanks for that picture and info. I do have a question though. Is there a battery terminal back there under the cargo cover or is there a wire run through the car from the battery to back for the premium sound system? If there is a terminal back there that would be sweet.
websurrfr is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 06-09-2007, 06:13 PM
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville
Posts: 5,623
Both MK's have an 8" sub, pic 1. I could just see one of my 18" Vegas fitting in this area!

Picture 2 is the cover that just pulls out from right in front of the tire, no tools necessary, and picture 3 is the Amp. The only wires going to the amp look to be all 16 ga at the most and terminate into 2 connectors that plug into the amp. I had expected to see at least a 14 ga if not a 12 ga wire to power this but nothing in that size at all.
Attached Images
     

Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 06-09-2007, 08:52 PM
snood
Registered User
 
snood's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 127
can u please???

gramps

can u please upload some picks of the wiring diagram of the sub
i am thinking about puting my JL in place of the stock sub
what do you think?

also
i took out the autodimming mirror from my wrangler....is the wiring for that the same as the compass (does the compass just have a plug somewheres in the dash or ceiling for it)
wiring diagrams if you have them too please

thanks
snood is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 06-09-2007, 10:03 PM
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville
Posts: 5,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by nettolt
Gramps

can u please upload some picks of the wiring diagram of the sub
i am thinking about putting my JL in place of the stock sub
what do you think?

also
i took out the auto dimming mirror from my wrangler....is the wiring for that the same as the compass (does the compass just have a plug somewheres in the dash or ceiling for it)
wiring diagrams if you have them too please

thanks
I'm much more of a mechanical, nuts and bolts kind of guy. I can follow a wiring diagram pretty easily but as far as amps and that type of thing it's not my expertise, lets ask for somebody else's opinion. All I can do is compare the spec between the 2, if I had them. We'll watch for some feed back.

The Compass' Auto Dimming mirror wiring runs up into the headliner, presumably that would be where the connectors is but the harness may run down the pillars with the connector behind the dash too. I have no information on the Wrangler's mirror but if someone was to help on that they would need the year. I didn't see it listed in your profile or signature. I do feel that it could be adapted just like the amp. That's one of the areas that I looked at on the Wiring Diagrams when I was checking out the disc on IE6 at work.

Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 06-10-2007, 12:01 PM
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville
Posts: 5,623
Sub woofer wiring diagrams.

I've put the Mirror information over here:

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/showt...29#post3833029
Attached Thumbnails
14 Way.JPG   20 way.JPG   20 Way CF.JPG  
Attached Images
 

Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 06-10-2007, 06:49 PM
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville
Posts: 5,623
Radio Wiring diagrams.

The first is the Non-premium system, the others are the Premium systems.
Attached Thumbnails
Radio std.JPG   Radio A.JPG   Radio B.JPG   Radio C.JPG   Radio D.JPG  


Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 06-11-2007, 08:11 AM
eighteenwheeler
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Chester
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by nettolt
gramps

can u please upload some picks of the wiring diagram of the sub
i am thinking about puting my JL in place of the stock sub
what do you think?
Maybe I can help a little bit. In my more youthful days, I participated in audio competition.

---
The short:

Subwoofer- What is the depth of the JL? What is the width of the JL magnet and coil assembly? What is the depth and width of the subwoofer housing on the Jeep?

If JL Subwoofer Depth and Width < Subwoofer housing Depth and Width, Subwoofer will fit physically.

Amplifier- What is the load ratings on the stock amplifier? What is the load rating on the new subwoofer? (unless gramps can look it up for you, the best place to check is probably to remove the factory subwoofer, and look at the back. Typically it is printed on the sub). It looks something like a *Number* followed by a *greek omega* (horseshoe looking thing) that represents "Ohms". if this information is not available, get the model number off the sub and look online for information on it regarding load (ohm/omega symbol) and wattage.

If you luck out, and the Ohm rating of the factory sub is the same as the rating on your JL, it will will work in there. * <- see star below. If its not the same, you need to fine what loads the amp can support.

Wattage is potentially a problem as well. What is likely to happen is that your sub could work, but the factory amplifier cannot put out enough power to offer the subwoofers full potential. If this is true, you need to install a new amplifier. If you do not, and run the factory amplifier at above-typical power, then it will introduce distortion, which will blow your subwoofer.
The reverse is also possible. The amplifier COULD output more power than the subwoofer can handle. Turning the amp all the way up could blow the subwoofer.
While I'd say "look at the wattage ratings of your subwoofer and the factory amplifier", this presents a problem. Stock components are typically very conservatively rated, while aftermarket accessories (such as your JL) are typically exaggeratedly rated. Take the ratings with a grain of salt, and look for RMS, not peak power ratings.



*- Some subwoofers are DUAL VOICE COIL. if your subwoofer is DVC, then you need to think of it as TWO SUBWOOFERS. If each coil is 2 ohm, then depending on how you wire it, this subwoofer can be either 1 ohm or 4 ohm... but NEVER 2 ohm. If the factory one is 8 ohm (very typical) and you have a JL DVC at 4 Ohm each, then wire it in series to achieve 8 ohms, and it will drop in. You can post up the actual numbers and I can give you a better explanation on what to do. (the short-
Series will "add the ohm ratings together". Parallel will "divide the ohm ratings in half"
Series:
--
Run from amp<--------RED Black------> Run to amp
Black----Connect----Red
--
Parallel:
Run from amp<------ Red ---Connect----Red
Run back to amp<---Black--Connect----Black


---
The not-so-short

As I'm sure you know, the quality and volume of a subwoofer isn't necessarily the size or quality of the sub, but is the correct matching of subwoofer and box size. This presents a problem. Many of JL audios subwoofers are renown for their quality, but mainly because they are specifically pared with boxes that are the right size for the subwoofer.

to optimize the quality of your subwoofer, your best bet will probably be to use a JL audio box, made for your speaker. If this is not an option, or if you want to do your custom work, then check online for the subwoofer specs, and what type of box it requires.

If Just by chance you luck out, and the subwoofer uses the same amount of backspace as your factory box, and the ported/not ported and sub box material are on par (see below), its near the same wattage with about the same stroke length, then yeah you should be able to drop it in (assuming it fits and the such above). Theres one big problem with this scenario however... Whats the point? You won't see much of a difference from the factory one!

If you choose to take this route, and you need a little more box cu/f, then you can still manage by taking some pillow or blanket stuffing, or "subwoofer" stuffing that has some flashy catchy name, and putting it inside the box. This allows it to "act" like a larger box. You may have to play around with the quanity a little bit to get the right sound quality and quantity.

Two big questions sit in my mind. Is the factory sub ported? Is the factory sub box merely sturdy plastic?

If it's ported or not will really affect the subwoofer your using. If anyone knows this information (I don't have the premium audio) then please post up, as that will help.

Secondly, the sub box. If it's merely sturdy plastic, then I'd be real hesitant to throw in a subwoofer with more power and a longer stroke, as it will either rattle, crack, or flex in a manner that will shorten the life of your subwoofer, and lower the sound quality substantially.

---
On the amplifier side of things. If the factory amplifier doesn't put out as much power as you want, then an easy fix is to get an amplifier with high inputs.

Note however, that this isn't necessarily the *best* way to do it, as ideally you'd fully rewire a better amp. However, it sounds as if your not interested in spending 2500 on a full new sound system, so this is a good low-cost option. Given that its an 8" and doesnt need that much power, this should be pretty easy and cheap. Put the subwoofer output from the factory amplifier to the high inputs of the new amplifier, and connect this amplifier to the subwoofer.
---

I tried to simplify this as much as I could. If you have any more questions, just ask. Your best bet may be to hold out for a Q-Logic or other brand factory mount box.

Hope that helps a little!

01 Jeep TJ
Plus 9 other less durable vehicles from Italy, Germany, and 'Merica
eighteenwheeler is online now  
post #14 of 14 Old 05-17-2015, 06:37 PM
Joemamma019
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Akron
Posts: 1
Any help with running the power wire from the battery to the inside of my car I can't find anything to run it through
Joemamma019 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Patriot ??? wdyer14 Jeep Compass & Patriot Forum 22 04-03-2012 08:26 AM
XJ guy looking at the Patriot xjken99 Jeep Compass & Patriot Forum 13 07-30-2008 08:26 PM
getting patriot, can't decide color! (how is the patriot?) taseal Jeep Compass & Patriot Forum 20 02-08-2008 11:46 PM
We have a Patriot BURNSY Jeep Compass & Patriot Forum 6 02-15-2007 09:22 PM
Patriot GPS wesley8808 Jeep Compass & Patriot Forum 0 01-24-2007 08:25 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome