Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Oil change indicator

26K views 25 replies 12 participants last post by  elfamiglia 
#1 ·
Hello all;
Does anyone have insight about how the oil change indicator in the dash works? Mine lit up already and my Patriot is only 2 1/2 months old with 2,500 miles. The manual says the indicator is "duty based" and affected by driving style. I'm a gentle driver and change the oil in my other vehicles every six months. What gives?
Thanks

#2 ·
cant say specifically for the patriot but cadillacs oil change monitor bases it on miles, temps, stop and go, speed, how hard you drive it, stuff like that. I would think the patriots monitors the same stuff.

so it might go 4500 miles if its mostly highway driving and 2000 miles if its a lot of city driving. highway miles are kind to oil as any moisture/fuel byproducts in the oil "burn" off. short trips are harsh to oil as moisture/blowby products just collects as the oil never gets and stays hot enough for it to evaporate or "burn" off.

those in the know will chime in with more accurate info though.

#3 ·
Keep it simple:
1. If it lights up, check the oil. That's what it's for :)
2. "A new engine may consume some oil during its first few thousand miles (kilometers) of operation" --- Compass manual, page 39.
So you can't compare it with your other vehicles... yet.

#4 ·
If you change your own oil, this is what you do.

Engine Oil Change Indicator System
Oil Change Required
Your vehicle is equipped with an engine oil change indicator system. The “Oil Change Required” message will flash in the EVIC display for approximately 10 seconds after a single chime has sounded to indicate the next scheduled oil change interval. The engine oil change indicator system is duty cycle based, which means the engine oil change interval may fluctuate dependent upon your personal driving style.