Help: Check TPM system message - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Compass & Patriot Forum > Help: Check TPM system message

Savvy/Currie Aluminum Control ArmsRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4w

Reply
Unread 05-20-2009, 10:06 AM   #1
plunderisley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: EU
Posts: 42
Help: Check TPM system message

I got a set of 4 new sensors for my compass as I bought winter tires a bit back and don't want to go to the Jeep dealer and pay them changing the sensors every season.
I had them install the new sensors in my all year tires yesterday.
Today i get a Check TPM system message every time I turn on the car. No low pressure light, and all 4 tires show the correct amount of air. There's no followup message, just when I turn it on, I get the message, it switches to the TPM screen and leaves it at that.
Any way I can fix this? Could it be that the car needs to reset to the new sensors? Or do I bring it back to the dealer for further inspection?

plunderisley is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-20-2009, 01:45 PM   #2
miketmx
Registered User
2008 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 264
I think Gramps will answer your question as he posted a complete description of the TPMS system at:

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f98/tpm-sensors-741251/

I recently bought 4 aftermarket wheels without sensors for my winter tires just so I would not have to pay for mounting and balancing twice a year. I only tried one new wheel without a sensor on the Patriot and the TPMS system didn't complain at all. I don't understand why you would have 2 sets of sensors for only 4 wheels but maybe I misunderstood your post.
miketmx is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-20-2009, 05:03 PM   #3
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 5,624
From that thread:

IF NECESSARY - The following can be performed by your dealer or a service shop with the correct tools.
9. Perform one of the following to make the system learn the new sensor ID.
a. Use the TPM-RKE Analyzer, Special Tool 9936, with the Scan Tool to program the WCM/SKREEM with the tire pressure sensor ID. This is part of the TPM Diagnostic Verification Test.
b. Once the vehicle has remained stationary for more than 20 minutes, drive vehicle for a minimum of 10 minutes while maintaining a continuous speed above 15 mph (24 km/h). During this time, the system will learn the new sensor ID. This is part of the TPM Diagnostic Verification Test.
NOTE: If a sensor cannot be trained, refer to appropriate diagnostic information.


The dealer may be your only option. When these things work right, they're neat. When they don't or your trying to by-pass them they can be a real PITA!
__________________
Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-21-2009, 02:19 AM   #4
plunderisley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: EU
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gramps View Post
From that thread:

IF NECESSARY - The following can be performed by your dealer or a service shop with the correct tools.
9. Perform one of the following to make the system learn the new sensor ID.
a. Use the TPM-RKE Analyzer, Special Tool 9936, with the Scan Tool to program the WCM/SKREEM with the tire pressure sensor ID. This is part of the TPM Diagnostic Verification Test.
b. Once the vehicle has remained stationary for more than 20 minutes, drive vehicle for a minimum of 10 minutes while maintaining a continuous speed above 15 mph (24 km/h). During this time, the system will learn the new sensor ID. This is part of the TPM Diagnostic Verification Test.
NOTE: If a sensor cannot be trained, refer to appropriate diagnostic information.


The dealer may be your only option. When these things work right, they're neat. When they don't or your trying to by-pass them they can be a real PITA!
Hmm
Ill have to swing by the dealer then I guess.


And miketmx, its 2 sets for 8 tires (4 winter and 4 all season)
plunderisley is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-21-2009, 01:03 PM   #5
miketmx
Registered User
2008 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 264
OK I got it; You have 8 wheels, 8 tires, and 8 sensors and will not have to pay for twice a year tire mounting and balancing on only one set of 4 wheels.
miketmx is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-08-2009, 04:56 PM   #6
plunderisley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: EU
Posts: 42
Hmm.
After about 2 weeks it fixed itself. Now it seems to work. No error message, works like it should and didn't even take it into the dealer.
plunderisley is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-08-2009, 05:39 PM   #7
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 5,624
That's the best news that I've had in the last week! Thanks for the feedback!
__________________
Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-08-2009, 05:57 PM   #8
plunderisley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: EU
Posts: 42
The more I think about it, I think it took exactly 2 weeks to the date. I know theres no way I drove for the 10min drive over 15mph.. I don't think I ever did that in the city. Heck, a 2min or longer drive over 15mph is rare
I will report again when winter rolls around in a few months and I change tires again.
plunderisley is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.