esp-bas light on after Cruise Control Install - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Compass & Patriot Forum > esp-bas light on after Cruise Control Install

Oconee Off-Road Now Offering Zone Off-Road Products!!!Advance Adapters SYE KitsKOR Labor Week Sale and Giveaway

Unread 05-20-2011, 04:48 PM   #1
Brad454

esp-bas light on after Cruise Control Install

Hi newbie here.
Just got finished installing the cruise control switch and harness on my friends 2007 Compass. The cruise works great, but now the esp-bas light is staying on. I was wondering if it was because the battery had been disconnected or did I not plug something in?
Any help would be much appreciated.
Thanks Brad

Brad454 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-20-2011, 05:47 PM   #2
Gramps
The Necessary Evil

2007 MK Compass 

The first thing I would wonder about is if the clockspring was installed correctly. That will effect the steering angle sensor which can throw the the ESP-BAS light on. That same thing can show up when the tie rod or lower ball joints are going.

First do this - go crank the steering wheel all the way left, then all the way right to see if it re-centers and give us some feedback.

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-20-2011, 07:31 PM   #3
Brad454

Please excuse my unfamiliarity. What is the clock spring? Would the steering wheel not being centered cause this? I noticed after replacing the wheel, that it is perhaps 2 teeth off. I will do the steering wheel turn test and post back in a minute.

Thanks Brad
Unread 05-20-2011, 07:42 PM   #4