Can i add the tyre presure sensor? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Compass & Patriot Forum > Can i add the tyre presure sensor?

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitTHE NEW! VANCO DUAL MODE 15”/16″ Big Brake Kit w/BlaFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Reply
Unread 08-06-2007, 06:02 AM   #1
pszemia
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 53
Can i add the tyre presure sensor?

Hi, i want to know if it possible to add the tyre presure sensor to my jeep compass. I dont know what you need to know, if you want the VIN number is: 1J8FFF7WX7D293388

Thanks,

Ariel

pszemia is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-08-2007, 09:07 AM   #2
pszemia
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 53
anyone?

Thanks!
pszemia is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-08-2007, 09:16 AM   #3
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 5,623
The factory TPMS is part of the EVIC that also includes Compass, Temperature, MPG and some other features. I have seen listings, including MOPAR, for add on systems. I was going to go find links to them but haven't had the time.
__________________
Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-08-2007, 05:24 PM   #4
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 5,623
pszemia,

Check out these links and see if there is anything that you like.

Systems:

http://www.tirerack.com/accessories/.../smartire2.jsp

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-rcaNQ88...g=308450&avf=N

http://www.doranmfg.com/tire_pressure_wireless.htm

http://www.calcarcover.com/product.aspx?id=2040&tid=44

http://gizmodo.com/gadgets/a-device-...tem-276351.php

Probably not what you're looking for but much cheaper!

Valve stem caps:

http://www.target.com/gp/detail.html/601-2021209-3471356?asin=B00084IBOA&AFID=Yahoo&LNM=B00084IBOA| Tire_Pressure_Valve_Caps__Set_of_4_36_lb.&ref=tgt_ adv_XPYD0100


http://www.ptcruiserclubstore.com/ca...oducts_id=1810
__________________
Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-08-2007, 07:55 PM   #5
pszemia
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 53
i have the EVIC, but not the sensors, can i check if i have the whole system less the sensors?

thankss
pszemia is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-08-2007, 08:09 PM   #6
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 5,623
You have the EVIC? I'm really confused . You don't have the Auto Dimming Mirror either. How is yours equipped? Do you have the Compass, Temperature or Audio Mode? When you push in on the button under the Speedometer how many options does it give you to change if you just keep pushing it?

Does your dash look anything like mine? Pics start at post 30 on this thread:

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f98/please-dont-soap-my-compass-328970/
__________________
Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-09-2007, 01:03 PM   #7
pszemia
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 53
same functions on the EVIC, it's seems that the jeep compass delivered to Argentina are the ones that goes to EUROPE.

That's why i have exterior heated mirror and rear head rest regulable and central rear headrest.


the only thing i don't have is the tyre pressure information, but i have:

MAIN SCREEN: AUDIO STATION / COMPASS / EXT. TEMPERATURE
SECOND SCREEN: Personalized functions:
language/door opens remote (1/all)/light delay/etc. (i can't remember everyone)
THIRD SCREEN: Consume of fuel
FOUR SCREEN: elapsed time

the order is by memory, i don't have here the jeep.

That's why i always was asking about equipment, because i think here should be some cables.

The TMPS light doesn't turn on when i put the key in ACC, but i think the system is disabled somehow.

mm.. i think i dont forget anything. that's why i posted the VIN number

byeee

thanks..

ariel
pszemia is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-09-2007, 01:07 PM   #8
pszemia
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 53
also, in the place you have the airbag off light i have a headlight height adjust.

Byeee
pszemia is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-10-2007, 03:00 PM   #9
pszemia
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 53
found anything??

Thanks...
pszemia is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-10-2007, 03:39 PM   #10
merlinTec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: England
Posts: 2,944
Hi
Do you have the transponders for the tyre pressure monitor behind the plastic trims under the wheel arches? Or even the wiring for them? If not it’s at least a new body wiring loom.
Regards,
Merlin
__________________
UK Chrysler Jeep Master Tec.
merlinTec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-10-2007, 04:45 PM   #11
pszemia
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 53
what are the "wheel arches", where should it be? or where can i check if i have the wiring or the whole system less the trasnponder. i mean, maybe my system is capable but the parts are not installed.

Thanks
pszemia is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-10-2007, 05:08 PM   #12
merlinTec
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: England
Posts: 2,944
where the wheels are, plastic trims to stop the mud. there would be sensors there to pick up the sensors in the wheels. bolted to the body just in front of the doors. see if you have any plugs there.
__________________
UK Chrysler Jeep Master Tec.
merlinTec is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-10-2007, 05:09 PM   #13
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 5,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by pszemia
what are the "wheel arches", where should it be? or where can i check if i have the wiring or the whole system less the transponder. i mean, maybe my system is capable but the parts are not installed.

Thanks
The "wheel arches" are also called the "wheel wells" and "wheel house". You get to them by removing the push pins at the outer edge of the wheel well lip and removing the splash shields. As noted below, there is not a transponder located at the right front housing. The left front is mounted at the rear of the wheel well and the rears are mounted at the front of the wheel wells.


A transponder, sometimes referred to as a trigger module, is located in three of the four wheel wells (behind the wheelhouse splash shields) of a vehicle equipped with Premium TPM. These transponders are used to provide the Wireless Control Module (WCM), commonly referred to as the Sentry Key Remote Entry Module (SKREEM), with the location of the tire pressure sensors on the vehicle. A fourth transponder is not necessary in the remaining wheel well due to the process-of-elimination theory. Once the system knows the location of the first three sensors it assumes the location of the fourth tire pressure sensor. On this vehicle, there is a transponder located in the left front, left rear, and right rear wheelhouse. There is not a transponder located in the right front wheelhouse.

Thanks Merlin!!
__________________
Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-10-2007, 08:50 PM   #14
pszemia
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Buenos aires, Argentina
Posts: 53
so, i should check the front left wheel house for the transponder or plug.

I also have premium alarm and a key with open and close button but not panic button, is this sentry key?

Thanks,

Ariel
pszemia is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 07:12 AM   #15
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 5,623
I would do the left front. I think that you could just pop the rear of the splash shield loose and take a peek in there to see if any of the pieces are in there.

These are the common keys for the MK's. You have the one on top but without the red panic button?

I really appreciate merlin helping on this because I don't have a lot of access to export information, but I'll do what I can.
etpms-wire.jpg   tpms-transponder.gif   keys.jpg  
__________________
Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.