Broken AUX Input - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Compass & Patriot Forum > Broken AUX Input

Rough Country Deals at JeepHut.comSave at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft topsUp to $75 Cash Back on Your ARB Fridge Freezer Purchase

Reply
Unread 01-29-2008, 04:00 PM   #1
ajkst1
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 9
Broken AUX Input

I have a 2007 MK Compass and my head unit (stock) has the AUX input. I went to turn on my wipers kind of quickly and nudged my cable that was in the input hard and it came loose. Is this input part of the whole head unit or is it a replaceable part? It still works, but the cable has to sit JUST right or it doesn't work. If/once I get it replaced, I'm buying a cable that doesn't have such a large stress boot on the end!

ajkst1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2008, 05:03 AM   #2
CharBroiled
Registered User
2000 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 644
the wife has the patriot so I cant check the aux input on ours right now to see how its set up. my guess is maybe the contacts in the socket are bent. be an easy fix depending on how the HU is built.

is the actual socket loose?

are you sure its the aux socket and not the cable?

if you replace the cable get one with a 90* (right angle) plug.
__________________
[COLOR="DarkRed"]2000 Cherokee Sport 4.0L Selec Trac[/COLOR] - mine - for occasional wheeling
[COLOR="DarkGreen"]2007 Patriot 2.4L FD I 4x4[/COLOR] - wifes - doomed to rarely leave the street

Last edited by CharBroiled; 01-30-2008 at 05:21 AM..
CharBroiled is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2008, 05:50 AM   #3
ajkst1
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 9
It's defintely the socket. If I take the cable out, I can move the socket with my finger. It's not a big deal, just wondering if anyone has had this problem or if they had taken the stock radio out and seen if the input is modular or not.
ajkst1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-20-2008, 07:40 PM   #4
ajkst1
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 9
No one else has had this problem? I can't even find a replacement head unit to see if I can replace this piece.
ajkst1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-20-2008, 10:44 PM   #5
davep
Registered User
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eugene OR
Posts: 42
The iPod integration kit has an Aux input on it, which is probably a lot cheaper than replacing the radio, and you get iPod control as an added bonus (if you have or want an iPod)... I think the iPod kit works on all of the '07+ factory installed radios. Mopar accessories part number: 82209617AD
davep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-21-2008, 08:55 PM   #6
pillzny
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Yonkers/Bronx
Posts: 59
My aux socket moves around. It got looser as time went on. I got mine on 11/06. So far no issues... hopefully I didnt just Jinx myself
pillzny is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-22-2008, 05:46 AM   #7
Laloggia
Registered User
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 136
.............................
__________________
2010 Wrangler Islander
2005 Chrysler Crossfire
2010 Honda Crosstour
2007 Honda Civic Coupe

Last edited by Laloggia; 04-23-2008 at 06:18 AM..
Laloggia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.