Break in questions from new Jeep Patriot owner - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Compass & Patriot Forum > Break in questions from new Jeep Patriot owner

NEW!! HMF 50"-52" light bar mounting brackets!! Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineYear End Clearance Sale! Save 20%

Unread 02-22-2013, 09:53 PM   #1
Joey-G

Break in questions from new Jeep Patriot owner

Hi everyone,

Complete newbie here to jeep and owning a new car. So inevitably this topic has been discussed already but never the less...

I just purchased my first jeep, a 2013 Patriot Latitude with the 2.0 engine and cvt. Not only is it my first Jeep but it is also my first new car. The car had 80 miles when I drove it off the lot with a full tank of gas. I've since driven 100 miles all highway and gone through a half tank which is roughly 16 mpg i believe. I would never expect to get the actual window sticker estimates but that seemed alarmly low to me. As first time owner of a new car I was obviously concerned and after a little research discovered the notion of a break in period. I've done a little research on the forums here and elsewhere regarding a "break-in" but can't seem to find a consensus. How much should I limit my rpms? What's the best method to break in such a new car? I don't drive like a maniac to begin with.

Also is there an easier way seeing the average mpg other than weighing the distance travelled against the gas used? Some readout on the dash that I'm missing?

Thanks in advance to any replies. I'm looking forward to contributing to these forums and being a jeep owner

Joey-G is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-23-2013, 12:01 AM   #2
jacko15
2014 WK