08 Compass Speaker Wiring - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Compass & Patriot Forum > 08 Compass Speaker Wiring

Rubicon Express Suspensions from CCOR 706-207-4140Oconee Off-Road Free Shipping Lifts Tires Bumpers Tops andPerformance tuning programmers @ oconee off road 706 534 9

Reply
Unread 07-13-2012, 04:36 PM   #1
bcashjmu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Harrisonburg, Virginia
Posts: 2
08 Compass Speaker Wiring

Hey guys,
I am new to this forum. As the other compass forum hasn't approved me yet for posting. I am installing a powered 8" sub under the front passenger seat. It fits perfectly. However, I need to tap into some speaker wires in order to hook it up. Where would be the easiest place to tap into the right and left +/- cables from the passenger front seat? Also, what color wires am I looking for and what is the best method for tapping into them.
Thanks!

bcashjmu is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-13-2012, 06:10 PM   #2
FujativeOCR
Registered User
2011 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newfoundland, Center of the Universe
Posts: 878
Do you have the Boston factory system by any chance? The amps for those are near the spare tire under rear seat, really easy access. Im not sure if the other system has external amps or if its in the head unit though?
FujativeOCR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-13-2012, 06:55 PM   #3
IRSmart
Registered User
2011 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 1,078
if you're just trying to tap into +- wires off a door speaker, please have a professional wire your sub up. it's going to sound like crap otherwise.
IRSmart is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-13-2012, 08:01 PM   #4
FujativeOCR
Registered User
2011 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newfoundland, Center of the Universe
Posts: 878
IRSmart...if its a powered sub...it probably has its own amp and crossovers, and likely has speaker level inputs designed for that.
FujativeOCR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-13-2012, 08:11 PM   #5
FujativeOCR
Registered User
2011 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newfoundland, Center of the Universe
Posts: 878
The only fail that might be...is if the factory amp has a high pass crossover to save the factory speakers. Then his new sub would have nothing to play.
FujativeOCR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-13-2012, 09:20 PM   #6
bcashjmu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Harrisonburg, Virginia
Posts: 2
The car does not have the BA speakers. The powered sub does have its own amp and crossover. I have wired these in my previous cars before and have some other car audio experience. Since I am new to the Compass, I was just wondering where the best place to tap in for an audio signal would be. I was thinking the headunit. What is the easiest way to get to those wires? Do I have to disassemble the dash pieces from the top down or is there shortcut for those wires? That's really all I am asking. I have the navigation equipped headunit if that makes any difference. Would there already be wires set up to go to an amp or at least outlets on the unit for me to use?
bcashjmu is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-13-2012, 09:35 PM   #7
FujativeOCR
Registered User
2011 MK Patriot 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Newfoundland, Center of the Universe
Posts: 878
Im not much help here, bacause I have the BA system, but on mine, without nav, and single CD, the deck has a digital output to the amp, and the amp does the signal processing duties, then spits it out to the speakers via analog signal. So you couldnt splice into the digital signal cable, youd have to do it after the amp. Problem is I dont know if the basic system is similar to the BA...I think they share head units though so its likely?

I can tell you where the BA amp is, and you could easily go see if you have one there too. Go to the rear hatch, and lift up the spare tire cover. Towards the front right of it, by the rear seat, under the carpet is the amp. If memory serves you can get to it just by lifting the carpet out of the way, or maybe it was plastic, either way thats where it is. Go see if you have one there, and what variety of wires go into and out of it.
FujativeOCR is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-14-2012, 07:14 AM   #8
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 5,623
About half way down on this page you'll find a couple of links. They may have what you're looking for meanwhile I'll check some other sources. http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f98/q...5/#post6599929
__________________
Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-14-2012, 07:36 AM   #9
Gramps
The Necessary Evil
 
Gramps's Avatar
2007 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Madison/Janesville, Wisconsin
Posts: 5,623
Since the program for the wiring diagrams requires the obsolete IE6 browser the wiring diagrams won't open. You may want to call or go down to the dealer and they can print out the speaker wiring for you.
__________________
Bob

Artificial intelligence is no substitute for natural stupidity

MK Skid Plate fasteners for sale posts 68 & 69

Also visit me at Photobucket
'06 WK Grand Cherokee Limited Quadra-Drive II, 5.7
'07 MK Compass Limited 4X4, AutoStick
Gramps is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 07-14-2012, 07:40 AM   #10
IRSmart
Registered User
2011 MK Compass 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Westminster, MD
Posts: 1,078
Quote:
Originally Posted by FujativeOCR View Post
IRSmart...if its a powered sub...it probably has its own amp and crossovers, and likely has speaker level inputs designed for that.
ah, i missed the powered part. carry on
IRSmart is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.