X, Sahara, Rubicon...little help? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > X, Sahara, Rubicon...little help?

August special - FREE XJ Unibody stiffeners when you buy a~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~Dan's Old as Dirt Birthday Sale!

Unread 06-29-2006, 08:44 PM   #1
awd_brian

X, Sahara, Rubicon...little help?

Ok, I'm new to Jeeps. I like the sound of the JK, and have no bias towards any of the older models. That said, which model would be the most functional for a daily driver, and still be able to have fun on the weekends when I want to? Is there a huge difference between the 3?

I won't be diving into mods right away, most of my mod money goes towards my current car, and I want to be able to put it down and pull the engine to put on a lot of goodies, and need a new DD in order to do so.

From what I understand from reading on here a bit, the X is just the baseline model, with room for improvements as you want them. The Sahara seems like more of a visual package (I haven't really read anything about it), and the Rubi is like an X with a basic mod list already installed.

So, what are your thoughts?

awd_brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-29-2006, 09:11 PM   #2
TurtleMacLeod
2006 LJ Wrangler 

The Rubicon is the "top shelf" model; several magazines have said that pound for pound, it's the most capable out-of-the-box 4x4 on the market. It has some features that will be beyond the needs of a beginner, but nice to have and you won't have to worry about what to upgrade first.