Write-up: Video monitor install with stock DVD player - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > Write-up: Video monitor install with stock DVD player

All Bilstein shocks & struts - Lowest Prices Ever and Santa Kolak Announces: Kolak Exhaust 20% Off Sale!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 09-20-2007, 01:57 AM   #1
squid2004

Write-up: Video monitor install with stock DVD player

Finally got the mount I needed and some other pieces so I decided to tackle my video monitor install tonight. Took about 2 hours from start to finish and that includes removing plastic pieces, drilling/mounting, wiring, testing and cleaning up. And it should be known that I'm not a professional installer and not really a DIY kind of guy, but stuff like this is fun and helps you understand your vehicle better.

I love the stock JK head unit and the fact that is has DVD... so I purchased a $100 LCD monitor on ebay to take full advantage. You can find LCD monitors in this size anywhere from $90-300 depending on brand and quality. Pyle is probably the cheapest and this Sony used to go for $300-400 but are now like $150 on ebay. It was a steal at $100 - I wish the guy had more of them!

the monitor is a Sony LCD with wireless video capability, came with wireless headphones, has 2 video in, 1 out (to another monitor or recording device), separate video breakout box, all cabling, great manual, and looks fantastic.

So I started with removing the plastic over the rearview as I want to mount my monitor above it. It basically pops out as it is secured by the typical tabs. Turned over so you can see position of the tabs: