post #1 of Old 07-24-2013, 10:39 AM Thread Starter
thunderball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: jupiter
Posts: 93
What does it take to make a rubi locker work?

I'm looking at putting a set of rubicon axles in my X and wondering if the electric locker requires anything specific besides the basic switch, relay etc...

Thanx.

thunderball is offline  
post #2 of Old 07-24-2013, 10:57 AM
towel33
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tempe
Posts: 9
Just did this last week. Don't even need the relay. Power > Switch> Locker > Ground. Done.

Optional: can wire up an LED indicator too if you want but I skipped it as you can hear it engage/disengage.
towel33 is offline  
post #3 of Old 07-24-2013, 11:22 AM
LVCapo
Web Wheeler
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,449
Yes, it's a very simple positive/negative switch...just make sure you give the wire plenty of slack (and that it won't get caught on anything). That little rubber plug wire onthe differential is a pain in the *** to fix, and expensive to replace.
LVCapo is offline  
post #4 of Old 07-24-2013, 12:07 PM
ronjenx
Web Wheeler
 
ronjenx's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,556
Don't forget to put a fuse in the circuit.

I don't know if this is typical, but the Rubi locker on my bench draws about 4 amps.
ronjenx is offline  
post #5 of Old 07-25-2013, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
thunderball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: jupiter
Posts: 93
Thanx guys. Those lockers just as good as any other electric?
thunderball is offline  
post #6 of Old 07-26-2013, 11:48 PM
gregaf3
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,875
I would put a relay in the circuit. That is 4 amps cold on the bench, how many amps is it hot?

Professional Slacker
gregaf3 is offline  
post #7 of Old 07-27-2013, 10:08 AM
jwmbishop
Accidental Obfuscator
 
jwmbishop's Avatar
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: corsicana
Posts: 6,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregaf3 View Post
I would put a relay in the circuit. That is 4 amps cold on the bench, how many amps is it hot?
Not just amps - but a toggle simply shouldn't be expected to handle the arc of the connect and disconnect - over time the toggle's contacts will burnish and carbonize... the reduced risk of failure on the trail (and we all know stuff somehow knows exactly when to fail causing the most problems) justifies the cost of the relay.

J Wm Bishop EA, ASADE
The wagon should, of course, be as light as possible, but strength should not be sacrificed to lightness, for on any but the regularly traveled roads, the wagon will get many a hard knock...
jwmbishop is offline  
post #8 of Old 08-21-2013, 01:35 AM
onlyjeep
Registered User
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: california
Posts: 209
Thinking of doing the same thing,
Can i put a rubi axle only on the rear?
Will it complicate the front if it stay stock?
onlyjeep is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome