What does it take to make a rubi locker work? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > What does it take to make a rubi locker work?

FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueEngo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Reply
Unread 07-24-2013, 10:39 AM   #1
thunderball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: jupiter, florida
Posts: 92
What does it take to make a rubi locker work?

I'm looking at putting a set of rubicon axles in my X and wondering if the electric locker requires anything specific besides the basic switch, relay etc...

Thanx.

thunderball is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-24-2013, 10:57 AM   #2
towel33
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 8
Just did this last week. Don't even need the relay. Power > Switch> Locker > Ground. Done.

Optional: can wire up an LED indicator too if you want but I skipped it as you can hear it engage/disengage.
towel33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-24-2013, 11:22 AM   #3
LVCapo
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 910
Yes, it's a very simple positive/negative switch...just make sure you give the wire plenty of slack (and that it won't get caught on anything). That little rubber plug wire onthe differential is a pain in the *** to fix, and expensive to replace.
LVCapo is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-24-2013, 12:07 PM   #4
ronjenx
Web Wheeler
 
ronjenx's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,821
Don't forget to put a fuse in the circuit.

I don't know if this is typical, but the Rubi locker on my bench draws about 4 amps.
ronjenx is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2013, 05:46 PM   #5
thunderball
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: jupiter, florida
Posts: 92
Thanx guys. Those lockers just as good as any other electric?
thunderball is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-26-2013, 11:48 PM   #6
gregaf3
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,597
I would put a relay in the circuit. That is 4 amps cold on the bench, how many amps is it hot?
__________________
Professional Slacker
gregaf3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-27-2013, 10:08 AM   #7
jwmbishop
Registered User
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: corsicana, tx
Posts: 3,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregaf3 View Post
I would put a relay in the circuit. That is 4 amps cold on the bench, how many amps is it hot?
Not just amps - but a toggle simply shouldn't be expected to handle the arc of the connect and disconnect - over time the toggle's contacts will burnish and carbonize... the reduced risk of failure on the trail (and we all know stuff somehow knows exactly when to fail causing the most problems) justifies the cost of the relay.
__________________
J Wm Bishop EA, ASADE
When I said that I was acceptably sane I may have exaggerated slightly.
jwmbishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-21-2013, 01:35 AM   #8
onlyjeep
Registered User
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: california
Posts: 126
Thinking of doing the same thing,
Can i put a rubi axle only on the rear?
Will it complicate the front if it stay stock?
onlyjeep is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.