JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   JK Wrangler Technical Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f96/)
-   -   what to do next with the new rubi (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f96/what-do-next-new-rubi-1233171/)

wardo 06-28-2011 03:21 PM

what to do next with the new rubi

So experienced jeepers, I need some sage advice on the next steps with my wrangler.
http://i1197.photobucket.com/albums/...n/IMAG0493.jpg
I've got a brand new stock rubicon. (near jeep)

I'm relatively new to the off-road scene but not to car builds. I've spent a good amount of time scouring the forums here and from what I can tell unless I know I'm getting into some pretty hairy stuff the rubicon will be pretty much good as is. Truck came stock with the lt255/75/17's bfg mud terrain km's. Knowing the value of good rubber, Im always open to suggestions on better tires. As far as additional mods I'm not sure exactly what else I should be looking at.

From what I've been able to determine the best thing for me to invest in would be trail riding supply kit and butt time behind the wheel to get better at driving and utilizing everything the rubicon already offers. For the trail kit I've got a LED flashlight, first-aid kit, fold up shovel, two tow straps and a utility knife so far. I plan to purchase a hi-lift jack (probably the 60') a fire extinguisher and a some additional hand tools. I def would like some feedback as to what you guys have found useful/necessary.

I also plan to pull out the carpet and I'm thinking that rhino lining would be a good first expenditure. The only concern I have is with the sound system that came with the truck. I haven't been able to find too much info about the water resistant qualities, if any, regarding the infinity stereo/sub in the back. My next big wheelin trip is going to be to ocala national forest so I'd like to be as prepared as possible.