TPMS reset - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > TPMS reset

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineStainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge Bushings

Reply
Unread 01-05-2013, 03:02 PM   #1
leapfrog
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Coloma, MI
Posts: 3
TPMS reset

I just put new wheels and tires on my '13 JK and now the TPMS light is on. Does anyone know how to get my jeep to recognize the new pressure sensors? I have made sure the tires are pressured up and driven around, which are the two recommendations I see most often, but to no avail. Is there a buton I need to push or something?

Thanks
Aaron

leapfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2013, 04:02 PM   #2
Spank
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,019
Need more info, but you'll want to get a ProCal to tell the Jeep's computer you've got new shoes or just disable the TPMS system completely.
__________________
'12 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
Spank is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2013, 04:03 PM   #3
JK4doors
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Jonesboro, AR
Posts: 161
Did you make sure the new sensors are compatible with 2013 models? Jeep changed sensors from 2012 to 2013. They work on a different frequency and allow individual tire pressure readout.
__________________
2012 JKU: [COLOR="Silver"]Silver[/COLOR][COLOR="Black"]
Mods:[COLOR="Red"] Teraflex [COLOR="Black"]1.5 Leveling Kit[/COLOR][/COLOR] [/COLOR]
JK4doors is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2013, 04:19 PM   #4
leapfrog
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Coloma, MI
Posts: 3
I ordered the wheels and tires from 4wheel parts and they had my vehicle info, so I assume they sent the correct sensors, but I don't know for certain. How can I tell? I have a ProCal on order, but I don't want to disable the TPMS, I just ordered that to reset my speedo for the bigger tires and future taller gears. I didn't think it was necessary just to replace the wheels. I do not have the individual pressure readings, if that makes a difference.

Thanks for the replies
Aaron
leapfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2013, 04:24 PM   #5
JK4doors
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Jonesboro, AR
Posts: 161
Is your spare tire up to correct pressure? How far have you driven?
__________________
2012 JKU: [COLOR="Silver"]Silver[/COLOR][COLOR="Black"]
Mods:[COLOR="Red"] Teraflex [COLOR="Black"]1.5 Leveling Kit[/COLOR][/COLOR] [/COLOR]
JK4doors is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2013, 04:36 PM   #6
JK4doors
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Jonesboro, AR
Posts: 161
U might look at your invoice and see if it tells you what year model sensors were installed
__________________
2012 JKU: [COLOR="Silver"]Silver[/COLOR][COLOR="Black"]
Mods:[COLOR="Red"] Teraflex [COLOR="Black"]1.5 Leveling Kit[/COLOR][/COLOR] [/COLOR]
JK4doors is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2013, 04:38 PM   #7
RockyClymer
RedRock4Wheeler
 
RockyClymer's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,409
You do not need to program a manual for new gearing. Speed is taken from the wheel rotation sensor hence takes into account all gearing, just need new diameter of tires. If the pressure is above the original setting, set at 32 on my stock 08 JK, then the light should go out if the sensors are the correct ones...if they are not the correct sensors, then you have the option of changing them, listening the chime and looking at the light, or using a Procal or such, turning them off.
__________________
08 JK 23S - Colorado Jeep Club No. 204
Too much to list - see my profile for details on build
NRA Life member
"It takes a special kind of stupid to believe criminals will follow gun laws."
I do not consider myself a smartass. I point out the obvious, search for the truth, and speak fluent sarcasm. I am, by experience, an accomplished curmudgeon.
RockyClymer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2013, 04:52 PM   #8
Jiblet
Registered User
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 877
Quote:
Originally Posted by leapfrog View Post
I just put new wheels and tires on my '13 JK and now the TPMS light is on. Does anyone know how to get my jeep to recognize the new pressure sensors? I have made sure the tires are pressured up and driven around, which are the two recommendations I see most often, but to no avail. Is there a buton I need to push or something?

Thanks
Aaron
Is the light solid or flashing? Solid means low pressure. Flashing means a bad sensor.

To reset you drive for "up to 20 minutes" at over 15 mph.

No buttons to push.
Jiblet is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2013, 05:03 PM   #9
SubAtomicGenius
Sarcastic Fantastic
 
SubAtomicGenius's Avatar
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,005
Also note if your new tires are bigger than stock, most likely you should also use less than stock tire pressure - which means either reprogramming your TPMS to the new required pressure or disabling the system entirely.

Aside from actually knowing how to check tire pressures and doing it often (as a responsible vehicle owner should) - this is one of the many reasons I chose not to get TPMS sensors in my mud tires.
SubAtomicGenius is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2013, 07:44 PM   #10
leapfrog
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Coloma, MI
Posts: 3
The light flashes for a minute or so when I start, then stays on, which I thought meant a system fault rather than low pressure. I think my question has been answered. Right now I'm guessing that I have the wrong sensors, as I have driven about 40 miles, which should satisfy the reset requirement. I'll call 4wheel parts on Monday and see what I can figure out.

Thanks
leapfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-22-2013, 07:52 PM   #11
David_M
Member
 
David_M's Avatar
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 434
So based on a couple of responses, I think I have my answer but would like to confirm. I am selling my stock wheels and tires from my 2013 sport. I am running ATX slab beadlocks and 37" toyo tires. The new wheels and tires do not have any sensors in them. I don't care if the tire pressure monitor system doesn't work I just don't want any kind of warning or other lights or messages related to tire pressure on in my dash. I do have an AEV Procal, with it I can disable the system to where I will NOT be getting any "idiot" lights?

Thanks, David M
__________________
My '13 Gecko JKU On 37's Build
David_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-22-2013, 09:01 PM   #12
JK4doors
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Jonesboro, AR
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by David_M
So based on a couple of responses, I think I have my answer but would like to confirm. I am selling my stock wheels and tires from my 2013 sport. I am running ATX slab beadlocks and 37" toyo tires. The new wheels and tires do not have any sensors in them. I don't care if the tire pressure monitor system doesn't work I just don't want any kind of warning or other lights or messages related to tire pressure on in my dash. I do have an AEV Procal, with it I can disable the system to where I will NOT be getting any "idiot" lights?

Thanks, David M
Correct. The Procal can disable the TPMS and any warning lights associated with it. Wish I had 37's for my rig
__________________
2012 JKU: [COLOR="Silver"]Silver[/COLOR][COLOR="Black"]
Mods:[COLOR="Red"] Teraflex [COLOR="Black"]1.5 Leveling Kit[/COLOR][/COLOR] [/COLOR]
JK4doors is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-23-2013, 07:49 AM   #13
xraypat23
Registered User
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: wading river, new york
Posts: 235
if you bought rims with TPMS, i've heard there's 2 different frequencies the newer jeeps 2012-up use. I know i just bought a new set of tires, and already had 1 wheel sensor go bad on my 2008, so i bought a pro cal solved the light issue
xraypat23 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.