tires sensors question JK - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 06:00 AM Thread Starter
Tony2356
Registered User
2009 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 37
tires sensors question JK

what happens if you change wheels and tires with NO tire pressure sensors ?

Does the earth stop spinning ?

Tony2356 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 06:19 AM
JKinBlack
Registered User
 
JKinBlack's Avatar
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 50
yes it does.... then it creates a polar vortex

Your low pressure light will stay on in the dash, that's about it.

2016 JK Rubicon Hard Rock
Past Jeeps:
2014 JK Rubi X, 2008 JK, 2002 TJ, 1993 YJ
JKinBlack is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 06:35 AM
COLOUXJ
Web Wheeler
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,038
That or it may flash. Procal or Flashcal will fix that easy enough though
COLOUXJ is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 07:22 AM
bhoch
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lliberty Hill
Posts: 772
I did this and just used the procal to set the sensor to zero (basically turning it off). takes just a couple of seconds.
bhoch is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 07:27 AM
MikeHoncho88
Registered User
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 360
The light will come on and you will get a chime every few minutes. Pretty darn annoying but not the end of the world.

“Race fans, I had inferred from my one trip to the Brickyard 400, fell into one of two categories: tattooed, shirtless, sewer-mouthed drunks, and their husbands.” - Steve Ruchin
MikeHoncho88 is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 07:47 AM
JIMBOX
Registered User
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NORCAL/NORNV
Posts: 7,133
The $149 buck ProCal Module (AEVPM) is so worth the money-

The AEVPM has about 6 or 7 functions you can use to customize/modify your jeep and they're all easy-

Disabling the TPMS is so convenient/pleasing too-

Good luck

JIMBO

Yellow Jeep No. 683
http://i294.photobucket.com/albums/m...10-snow027.jpg
--YA GOTTA HAVE CLASS--
JIMBOX is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 08:15 AM
mdfears
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 17
How much and where do you buy those sensors? Just because it would be nice to see how much air is in your oversized tires?
mdfears is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 08:22 AM
MikeHoncho88
Registered User
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 360
Sensors are getting cheaper. You can now get a set of 4 for about $140-$160. They used to cost that much just for one sensor!

“Race fans, I had inferred from my one trip to the Brickyard 400, fell into one of two categories: tattooed, shirtless, sewer-mouthed drunks, and their husbands.” - Steve Ruchin
MikeHoncho88 is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 08:26 AM
JIMBOX
Registered User
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NORCAL/NORNV
Posts: 7,133
They don't tell you how much air is in your tires-


Quote:
Originally Posted by mdfears View Post
How much and where do you buy those sensors? Just because it would be nice to see how much air is in your oversized tires?
--google-- AEV ProCal Module and you'll get all the info

JIMBO

Yellow Jeep No. 683
http://i294.photobucket.com/albums/m...10-snow027.jpg
--YA GOTTA HAVE CLASS--
JIMBOX is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 12:38 PM
ridesno4llfe
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
They don't tell you how much air is in your tires-

--google-- AEV ProCal Module and you'll get all the info

JIMBO
They do on the 2013 and up

Everytime I sell a jeep I say no more then a new one shows up in my driveway
ridesno4llfe is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 12:44 PM
BruceM1964
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Glen Spey
Posts: 235
Correct they do tell you the pressure of each individual tire. This brings a question to mind and that is are these devices addressed, in other words is the left front sending unit programed to be just that, a left front sending unit. If so what happens when you rotate tires. Are they automatically readdressed to the new location some how.
BruceM1964 is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 12:49 PM
ridesno4llfe
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceM1964 View Post
Correct they do tell you the pressure of each individual tire. This brings a question to mind and that is are these devices addressed, in other words is the left front sending unit programed to be just that, a left front sending unit. If so what happens when you rotate tires. Are they automatically readdressed to the new location some how.
I havent done mine yet but from what ive heard yes. The truck registers the sensors based on distance from the module and reprograms. Just have to drive it a little for it to work.

Everytime I sell a jeep I say no more then a new one shows up in my driveway
ridesno4llfe is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 12:50 PM
Original_Junior
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by ridesno4llfe View Post
They do on the 2013 and up
They don't if you do not have the EVIC. My '13 JKR is fairly basic lacking this nice to have. I have to do it the old fashion way.
Original_Junior is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 12:51 PM
BruceM1964
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Glen Spey
Posts: 235
Quote:
Originally Posted by ridesno4llfe View Post
I havent done mine yet but from what ive heard yes. The truck registers the sensors based on distance from the module and reprograms. Just have to drive it a little for it to work.
Ah I see, okay thanks.
BruceM1964 is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 01-21-2014, 12:52 PM
ridesno4llfe
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 256
Thats surprising that its an option on a rubi. Most seem to come pretty well equipped

Everytime I sell a jeep I say no more then a new one shows up in my driveway
ridesno4llfe is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome