post #61 of Old 03-12-2010, 09:54 PM
asknight
Registered User
2006 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,189
Quote:
Originally Posted by McKBrew View Post
Installed mine today with 87 Octane tune. Initial impression is that it is a bit more peppy, but who knows.

I'll have a better idea tomorrow when I throw on my new rims and tires, and start keeping track of the data.

With the new tires and rims, I have almost an additional 200# I am pushing around vice the stockers.
That's not the way to build a fair review of a product. Run the Flashpaq for a day or two in various conditions and then you'll know what benefits you've obtained.

By flashing it today, and turning it into a dog tomorrow with 200+ additional pounds in wheels tires, you're not going to blame the Flashpaq for your complete lack of performance are you?

asknight is offline  
post #62 of Old 03-13-2010, 09:32 AM
McKBrew
Registered User
JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hayden
Posts: 2,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by asknight View Post
That's not the way to build a fair review of a product. Run the Flashpaq for a day or two in various conditions and then you'll know what benefits you've obtained.

By flashing it today, and turning it into a dog tomorrow with 200+ additional pounds in wheels tires, you're not going to blame the Flashpaq for your complete lack of performance are you?
I don't plan on doing that at all. I know for a fact it's going to be different. But given the choice of putting my wheels or tires on today, or waiting for a few days, I'm putting them on today.

I suppose I won't be offering much in the way of actual review, but I figured I could post some mileage figures, etc... regardless of what tires I had on.
McKBrew is offline  
post #63 of Old 03-13-2010, 10:36 PM
McKBrew
Registered User
JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hayden
Posts: 2,739
I guess what I can do is go with the stock tune for a tank of gas, and then go with a different octane tune.
McKBrew is offline  
post #64 of Old 03-14-2010, 06:04 PM
RussK
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Romeo, Michigan
Posts: 317
I will probably get the flashpaq cus I do some towing for work and it has a tow setting.

I will probably run it with my stock tires. I have my new wheels off for the winter and have a couple thousand miles left on the stock ones. I should be able to get an idea of what it does.


What octane level does the tow setting require? I didn't see that on any site.
RussK is offline  
post #65 of Old 03-14-2010, 06:27 PM
Slow_Lane
Registered User
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Omaha Metro
Posts: 82
Procal came Friday now Sunday Put 200 miles on jeep since intall total of 1700 miles since new and live in a hilly not mountainous area. Added 255-85-16 (33x10.5)two weeks ago and averaged 10.5 mpg using cruise on new tires using cruise. Updated with procal for speed and tire pressure. Mpg improved to 12.4 and feel a noticable difference in shift on the hills. I ussually drive 55-58 mph and before procal would pull 45-48 uphills and would have to force down shifts to pull back to speed to keep up. I love it so far. I went from 7mile over on odometer to what appears to be .5 under which is as close as I could come. I do recemend and invite quesstions and will answer is I can. I paid 114.00 as said earlier in posts and that was from acme jeep which appears to be a quadratec owned company as the boxes and info came from same place as previous q tech orders.

"Last one there, First to arrive"
Slow_Lane is offline  
post #66 of Old 03-14-2010, 06:52 PM
mclaggan123
jeepaholic
 
mclaggan123's Avatar
2006 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: virgina beach
Posts: 543
everyone is forgetting a good point for the flashpaq, its upgradable from the internet. the procal isnt.
mclaggan123 is offline  
post #67 of Old 03-15-2010, 09:42 AM
MELINHED
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parker, CO
Posts: 31
Sorry, I'm dumb....do you have to run higher octane gas to see any performance improvements with the Flashpaq? So ,from what I gather, the Procal will get me back somewhat to a stock feel after adding 35's (which is what I'm looking for) and, being in Colorado, the Flashpaq really won't give me much performance improvement to justify spending $300. I am right with these assumptions? I think I'm leaning toward the Procal also.
MELINHED is offline  
post #68 of Old 03-15-2010, 09:49 AM
McKBrew
Registered User
JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hayden
Posts: 2,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by MELINHED View Post
Sorry, I'm dumb....do you have to run higher octane gas to see any performance improvements with the Flashpaq? So ,from what I gather, the Procal will get me back somewhat to a stock feel after adding 35's (which is what I'm looking for) and, being in Colorado, the Flashpaq really won't give me much performance improvement to justify spending $300. I am right with these assumptions? I think I'm leaning toward the Procal also.
Don't honestly know. It seems like Colorado comes up often in these threads, and after seeing xtreemjeepin (Cole Ford's) videos of his JK struggling up the mountain pass, I can see what you are all dealing with there.

It would be great if someone from CO would buy a Superchips and see what it does or doesn't do.

IMO, the extra $140 or so dollars may or may not be worth it depending on what people do with it. Also look ahead to what you plan on doing to your Jeep in the future to see if any of those features will benefit you. The Superchips has some cool data logging features that might be useful.

Personally, I like the easier to use interface of the superchips and the fact that it is internet updateable.
McKBrew is offline  
post #69 of Old 03-15-2010, 09:52 AM
PartyBarge
Registered User
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Costa Mesa
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclaggan123 View Post
everyone is forgetting a good point for the flashpaq, its upgradable from the internet. the procal isnt.
The Procal has zero features you'd ever need to upgrade via the internet....

Make way - the Party Barge is coming through.
PartyBarge is offline  
post #70 of Old 03-15-2010, 10:21 AM Thread Starter
mattman8706
Web Wheeler
 
mattman8706's Avatar
2009 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Lawrence, KS
Posts: 4,557
could the flashpaq get more features in the future because it is internet upgradeable?
mattman8706 is offline  
post #71 of Old 03-15-2010, 10:27 AM
PartyBarge
Registered User
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Costa Mesa
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattman8706 View Post
could the flashpaq get more features in the future because it is internet upgradeable?
Give em' a call.

Superchips, Inc.
1790 E. Airport Blvd.
Sanford, FL 32773
P: 888.227.2447

Make way - the Party Barge is coming through.
PartyBarge is offline  
post #72 of Old 03-15-2010, 12:10 PM
MrOrange
Registered User
2009 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Portland
Posts: 885
The Flashpaq already has gotten new features, like the ability to turn off the tire pressure light. Originally it would only let you lower the warning point but so many people wanted to disable it that they released it as an updateable feature.

@MELINHEAD, you need to run the correct octane fuel for the mode you chose to run. There's an 87-octane setting so you don't need to run Premium Unleaded for it. The Procal will not adjust any of the engine "tuning" to provide better performance. I'm sure the Flashpaq will still provide some improvements around in Colorado, but when you start going up in the mountains, you naturally won't see as much of those improvements since all of your enginer performance is dimished with the thinner air.

'09 X Unlimited, 4WD, auto, half-doors, soft-top
RC 2.5" Series II BB, JKS Quick Discos, JKS adjustable front track bar
15x8 Unique 297 (Soft 8), Goodyear MTR/Kevlar 35x12.50R15
5.13 gears, ARB front locker, Currie front shafts
Bushwacker flat flares, Rubicon rails with steps added
MrOrange is offline  
post #73 of Old 03-15-2010, 12:46 PM
McKBrew
Registered User
JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hayden
Posts: 2,739
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattman8706 View Post
could the flashpaq get more features in the future because it is internet upgradeable?
Yes.

Other than the TPMS off option, I don't know what else is recent, but I imagine they will release different features as they become available.
McKBrew is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
ProCAL & Superchips Flashpaq muttytruckster JK Wrangler Technical Forum 8 01-26-2010 06:07 PM
Recommendation ae procal or superchips flashpaq RussK JK Wrangler Technical Forum 3 12-14-2009 06:33 AM
2010 JK Procal Grizzly1 JK Wrangler Technical Forum 5 11-18-2009 05:59 PM
Procal does nothing apexjeepinjoe JK Wrangler Technical Forum 18 05-11-2009 09:05 PM
AEV Procal JC KJ JK Wrangler Technical Forum 20 04-06-2009 10:02 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome