Since I am new to the whole Manual transmission... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > Since I am new to the whole Manual transmission...

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineRough Country Jeep Suspension Deals at Rockridge 4WD!Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 12-22-2009, 06:09 AM   #1
Yellow09Jeep

Since I am new to the whole Manual transmission...

Okay I know how to drive a manual and do all the shifting fine. BUT I need to make sure I know what NOT to do on the trails with a manual and any tips or tricks before I go out to do some major wheeling... I don't wanna screw my transmission up before 5000 miles... hahaha Thanks Guys!

Yellow09Jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-22-2009, 06:18 AM   #2
mantis
2007 JK Wrangler 

X2 on this question.
mantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-22-2009, 07:14 AM   #3
hansonian
2004 LJ Wrangler 

All my Jeeps have been manuals and I've never done anything special when I'm off roading. Drive it appropriate to the situation and you should be fine. What kind of off roading are you plan on doing, i.e. mudding, rock crawler, trail riding, water crossings?
1969 CJ5 - Ran into the ground and left for dead
hansonian is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-22-2009, 07:21 AM   #4
mdm
Farm Wheeler
2000 TJ Wrangler 

Don't ride the clutch pedal. In tough obstacles use 4Lo, get off of the clutch and let the engine work for you. In the long run you are usually better off letting the engine kill itself rather than smoking the clutch trying to ease through.
Unread 12-22-2009, 07:23 AM   #5
Yellow09Jeep