Rubicon Locker switches - JeepForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 44 Old 09-19-2013, 09:48 AM Thread Starter
Astennis1
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ocean Springs
Posts: 215
Rubicon Locker switches

I have searched for a while to see if I can find a write up, or if someone has done this and I have come up short. I am doing research to figure out how difficult it is to bypass the onboard cpu and make my own switches for the rubi lockers. My plan would be to make a master switch that would have to be closed to use the lockers which would make an accidental engage unlikely. I have heard that the locker uses a momentary signal. My main questions are: Is this a specified pulse duration? Is this a motor that needs a flip in polarity to engage/disengage? Does the locker output its status? I can design a microcontroller to do the logic, but I don't feel this needs to be this complex. Any takers?


I LOVE LAMP

13 JKUR
Astennis1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 44 Old 09-19-2013, 01:15 PM
RockyClymer
RedRock4Wheeler
 
RockyClymer's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,774
It operates with a simple solenoid with 13.8 VDC on not, spring return as I recall. You could wire them totally independent of the PCM relay operated with master switch and appropriate fuse. May throw a code when PCM cannot find lockers but you could ignore it.

08 JK 23S - Colorado Jeep Club No. 204
Too much to list - see my profile for details on build
NRA Life member
"It takes a special kind of stupid to believe criminals will follow gun laws."
I do not consider myself a smartass. I point out the obvious, search for the truth, and speak fluent sarcasm. I am, by experience, an accomplished curmudgeon.
RockyClymer is offline  
post #3 of 44 Old 09-19-2013, 01:29 PM
ronjenx
Web Wheeler
 
ronjenx's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,561
A switch in the locker relay ground wire will actuate the locker, completely preserving the OEM circuitry.

Splice a switch to ground on the violet/light green wire on the rear locker relay, and a switch on the violet/dark blue wire on the front locker relay. You don't bypass the OEM ground wire. You simply tap your wire onto it. That way, the OEM switches will still operate the locker.

What it amounts to is, when you close your added switch, it grounds the relay coil, closes the relay contacts, and sends power to the locker.

The only thing you will see that's abnormal is the blinking locker light when you use your added switch to lock the axle.
ronjenx is offline  
post #4 of 44 Old 09-19-2013, 02:14 PM Thread Starter
Astennis1
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ocean Springs
Posts: 215
Okay I think I get at what you are saying. I tried to draw how I picture this, to make sure I got it right. Don't hate on my paint skills ha...


I LOVE LAMP

13 JKUR
Astennis1 is offline  
post #5 of 44 Old 09-19-2013, 02:41 PM
ronjenx
Web Wheeler
 
ronjenx's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,561
Quote:
Originally Posted by Astennis1 View Post
Okay I think I get at what you are saying. I tried to draw how I picture this, to make sure I got it right. Don't hate on my paint skills ha...
Kind of hard to tell, but I don't think that's it.

The violet wire from the relay goes back to the computer. The computer connects it to ground when you select LOCK with the OEM switch. This allows 12 volts to flow through the relay coil.
Your new wire will tap onto the violet wire, go to your new switch in the cab, and go to ground when you close your switch. This will also connect the violet wire to ground, (instead of the computer doing it), allowing 12 volts to flow through the relay coil. The relay will close, sending power to the locker.

It's more like this: (Copy the pic if you want it. I'll take it out of my photobucket later.)



Note to our readers:
Locking one or both axles at inappropriate times can cause the Jeep to become difficult or impossible to control.
If you don't know when not to lock, this mod is not for you.
ronjenx is offline  
post #6 of 44 Old 09-19-2013, 02:55 PM
RockyClymer
RedRock4Wheeler
 
RockyClymer's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,774
Wow, a lot simpler than my suggestion.

08 JK 23S - Colorado Jeep Club No. 204
Too much to list - see my profile for details on build
NRA Life member
"It takes a special kind of stupid to believe criminals will follow gun laws."
I do not consider myself a smartass. I point out the obvious, search for the truth, and speak fluent sarcasm. I am, by experience, an accomplished curmudgeon.
RockyClymer is offline  
post #7 of 44 Old 09-20-2013, 12:03 AM
djm
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: PENNINGTON
Posts: 419
Just curious - why would you want or need to do this ?


Dan
djm is offline  
post #8 of 44 Old 09-20-2013, 06:17 AM
mello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally Posted by djm
Just curious - why would you want or need to do this ? Dan
you can lock your rear in 2wd which comes in handy on a slick boat ramp. If you need some good wheel speed to clean out tires you can lock them in 4 high.
mello is offline  
post #9 of 44 Old 09-20-2013, 11:43 PM
Filthy-Beast
Registered User
2006 LJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Palatine
Posts: 2,333
when I was playing in big sand dunes it would have been nice to be able to lock in 4-hi,

13 JKUR Build thread

For Sale: 2013 4dr JK Painted black Hard Top JKUR 18/59 springs and shocks

97 TJ: daughter 1 - 2.5L, Auto, 2" BB, 31" GY Duratrac
98 TJ: Daugher 2 - 4.0L, 5spd, D44 rear
06 LJ Rubicon: mine - Rokmen full up-armor, 8 adjustable CAs, front bumper, sliders, corners, Shrockworks rear bumper, 3" AEV/BDS lift, Currie HD stearing and Antirock, MT/r - k 35x12.5, SuperWinch, MC Overlines, York OBA
13 JKU Rubicon: Wife's for now, Ace Rock rails & rear bumper tire carrier, Truck Lites, MC Game changer 3.5 lift, RR skids, PSC Brawler front bumper, Warn 9.5cti-s, 35" GY MTRs
Filthy-Beast is offline  
post #10 of 44 Old 09-21-2013, 12:54 AM
HllywdJeep
Registered User
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Kennesaw
Posts: 19
Don't some of the programmers make it possible to use the lockers when not in 4low? Not the cheapest route...
HllywdJeep is offline  
post #11 of 44 Old 09-21-2013, 12:55 AM
SubAtomicGenius
Registered User
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3,008
You wife can also switch it on the highway when she's going to get groceries so be careful!

"Wonder what this does??? -click- BBAAAAANNNGGGGGGG!!!! CRASH!!!!
SubAtomicGenius is offline  
post #12 of 44 Old 09-21-2013, 06:13 AM
mello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 394
My bypass switch is on my a pillar and I have it running through a weather pack connector in cab before it runs through fire wall. I keep that weather pack connector disconnected except when going off road so there is no accidental engagements. Also if I ever have to remove dash I will not have to cut the wiring.
mello is offline  
post #13 of 44 Old 09-21-2013, 08:44 AM
Wonk
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 132
When I put ARBs in my TJ I put the switches in the overhead console I built with the feed for both run through a toggle switch with a safety cover on it (arming switch). The main reason for this was because I would let my son drive it to school every now and then on special occasions. The arming switch was there to keep one of his buddies from engaging a locker while cruising down the highway at 60, as in "hey what's this do" click. My son knew what they where for and how to use them.
Wonk is offline  
post #14 of 44 Old 09-21-2013, 08:54 AM
Neo1130
Registered User
2015 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Olympia
Posts: 1,253
I still don't understand... People are driving around in 4lo constantly?! The lockers are only available in 4lo. Even with a tuner, you have to have the tuner plugged into the vehicle in order to use it in any other mode. If you hit the locker switch, it will never engage, unless in 4lo... Now what I WOULD like... Tricking the vehicle into thinking it's in 4lo all the time so I can hit the locker switch whenever...
Neo1130 is offline  
post #15 of 44 Old 09-21-2013, 09:04 AM
mello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 394
You are not tricking the module to engage with the bypass you are engaging it manually with a switch. My tuner has the 4 high mode and it does not have to be plugged once it has programmed to do so.
mello is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome