RTV Sealant For Differential cover - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > RTV Sealant For Differential cover

Coil Spring Options from Ruffstuff!Flush Mount LED Bumper Lights, CREEThe Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!

Unread 02-16-2011, 04:15 PM   #1
Thane1
2008 JK Wrangler 

RTV Sealant For Differential cover

I'm putting my New Rear Diff Cover on this Saturday.

I was told to get RTV Sealant.

Is there a particular type I should get?

I've never done this before, so any help/advice you experienced wrenchers can give me is greatly appreciated!!

Thane1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-16-2011, 04:27 PM   #2
DBA2GO
2008 JK Wrangler 

I've used Grey (ultra Grey) whatever... I can't find torque specs; maybe your new cover told you what they were?
Unread 02-16-2011, 04:48 PM   #3
Thane1
2008 JK Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBA2GO View Post
I've used Grey (ultra Grey) whatever... I can't find torque specs; maybe your new cover told you what they were?
Thanks for the reply,

I have the ARB specs which say to torque them to 25.4 ft/lbs. I just don't know anything about the RTV.
Thane1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-16-2011, 04:52 PM   #4
DBA2GO
2008 JK Wrangler 

I think the blue would work too?
Unread 02-16-2011, 04:53 PM   #5
DBA2GO
2008 JK Wrangler 

1/4" continous bead - then let it kinda set before you put it on... There should be a writeup somewhere here.
Unread 02-16-2011, 04:59 PM   #6
Woodchuck

2008 JK Wrangler 

I recommend these:

http://www.lubelocker.com/products/products/view/2/3