post #1 of Old 11-14-2006, 12:09 PM Thread Starter
shredX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ABQ, NM
Posts: 60
Q on JK factory sub

I have the base radio, but noticed I have a wiring harness by the right rear roll bar.

I went to the dealer & verified that harness plugs into the sub.

My question: Is the sub powered? It appears to be a simple pug'n'play. One one of the other forums I thought I had read there is an amp somewhere under the dash. If I don't have that amp, I assume I can not have the sub.

Thanks in advance.

Plug'n'play would be sweeeet.


07 JK Unlimited X ~ Stone White & grey int ~ 4X4 ~ Trac-loc LSD ~ Tow w/ 4.10 ~ Power package ~ S package ~ Freedom Top ~ 16x7 w/ BFG AT 265/75/R16 ~ base radio w/ Sirius Sportster ~ Thule rack
shredX is offline  
post #2 of Old 11-14-2006, 12:34 PM
infosponge
Registered User
 
infosponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 165
My understanding was that the base radio on the X does not have the amp, but I could be wrong.
infosponge is offline  
post #3 of Old 11-14-2006, 03:34 PM
jeepdude_to
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 22
I believe the amp is wired in somewhere in/around the box enclosing the sub...

Jeep Green Rubicon
jeepdude_to is offline  
post #4 of Old 11-14-2006, 04:38 PM
MD23
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Alabama
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by infosponge
My understanding was that the base radio on the X does not have the amp, but I could be wrong.

I have an X with the sub. It was part of the pkg w/6 disc changer and 6 speakers.

Unfortunately, I can't help with the original question . Hopefully this helps.
MD23 is offline  
post #5 of Old 11-14-2006, 06:35 PM
infosponge
Registered User
 
infosponge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD23
I have an X with the sub. It was part of the pkg w/6 disc changer and 6 speakers.
Right, you don't get the amp without the upgraded Infinity stereo system.
infosponge is offline  
post #6 of Old 11-14-2006, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
shredX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ABQ, NM
Posts: 60
So, even w/ the wire harness I'm out of luck.

Bummer.

07 JK Unlimited X ~ Stone White & grey int ~ 4X4 ~ Trac-loc LSD ~ Tow w/ 4.10 ~ Power package ~ S package ~ Freedom Top ~ 16x7 w/ BFG AT 265/75/R16 ~ base radio w/ Sirius Sportster ~ Thule rack
shredX is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Factory or Factory Option Rims? 90yjkrawler YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 10 04-07-2012 11:25 PM
Has anyone wired factory foglights without the factory wiring harness, etc? Canadian-Bear JK Wrangler Technical Forum 3 07-12-2009 05:14 PM
Min. Factory caster and Max. Factory toe-in???? 97casteeltj TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 12 08-28-2008 11:14 AM
whats the difference b/t a factory service manual and factory service workshop manual Johnny World YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 3 03-15-2006 01:01 PM
Factory Hardtop for Jeep w/out Factory switches and harness?? PADI_Pro TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 4 06-07-2003 06:51 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome