oil change button reset? - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 04:32 AM Thread Starter
wranglerofjeeps
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: reedsville
Posts: 25
oil change button reset?

I'm currently out right now with no access to my manual, or I'd check that first.

My problem is: the oil change required indication came on this morning on my 2013 jk. Now I just changed my oil 1500 miles ago and know its not time. Does anyone know if there is an internal reset for this indication, or is it coming up because a few sensors tripped?

Thanks!

wranglerofjeeps is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 04:38 AM
Border
Registered User
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lower Saxony
Posts: 60
this is the 2010 procedure don't know if they changed it:

Unless reset, this message will continue to display each time you turn the ignition switch to the ON/RUN position. To turn off the message temporarily, press and release the Trip Odometer button on the instrument cluster. To reset the oil change indicator system (after performing the scheduled maintenance), refer to the following procedure:
1. Turn the ignition switch to the ON position (Do not start the engine).
2. Fully depress the accelerator pedal slowly three times within 10 seconds.
3. Turn the ignition switch to the OFF/LOCK position.
NOTE: If the indicator message illuminates when you start the vehicle, the oil change indicator system did not reset. If necessary repeat this procedure.
Border is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 04:46 AM Thread Starter
wranglerofjeeps
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: reedsville
Posts: 25
Great, thanks so much. This is why I love this forum!

Do you happen to know if the indicator was tripped by sensors, or it automatically gets turned on after a set number of miles?
wranglerofjeeps is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 04:51 AM
Border
Registered User
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Lower Saxony
Posts: 60
Don't know

The dealer told me it has a sensor but I guess it's both miles and sensor.
After my first oil change it came on after 1500 km again I rested it and now it looks like it shows up every 12.000 km
Border is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 06:25 AM
rock-rocker
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pollock Pines
Posts: 86
What I understand the ECM (Engine Control Module) takes into consideration a few parameters (idleing time, stop and go, highway speed, run hours, miles driven, etc.) that counts the clock down for the oil life. It's amazing what that ECM does/keeps in memory. I know the insurance companies would love to be able to tap into that information after an accident to be able to determine at the time of the accident like air bag deployment, speed, seat belt wearing, braking and mucho, mucho more... I have only 3,000 on my 2013 JKU and I changed the oil a few miles ago and I went thru the reset procedure even though I didn't have the "Change" indicator showing and I'm hoping it reset back to 0. We'll find out. I'm a creature of habit and change it at 3,000 miles anyway using good oil and filter.

BTCS, USN, Retired
2013 Jeep JKU Rubicon 10th Year Anniversary.
rock-rocker is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 07:09 AM
mello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 394
Newer vehicles can get tapped into and do on many occasions after a wreck. This is mostly done by the police force but if vehicle was involved in a high speed collision they can tell what speed you were going, where you on or off the brakes, were you on the throttle and how much, were you attempting to steer away from wreck, and several other key pieces of info.
mello is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 07:16 AM
bogleparsons
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: fayetteville
Posts: 1,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by mello View Post
Newer vehicles can get tapped into and do on many occasions after a wreck. This is mostly done by the police force but if vehicle was involved in a high speed collision they can tell what speed you were going, where you on or off the brakes, were you on the throttle and how much, were you attempting to steer away from wreck, and several other key pieces of info.
Of course big brother knows. They wont stop until everyone has a bug in their ***

If it's not supposed to move and does use duct tape.
If it's supposed to move and doesn't use WD40
bogleparsons is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 07:51 AM
Jiblet
Registered User
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 972
The event monitor supposedly only keeps about 5seconds in memory for crash-review. There's something in the manuals about it, if I remember correctly. (on mobile now, can't check)

Some insurance companies offer (?) a discount if you use an OBDII plug-in module that records all the info. I think "patents" can get then privately to keep track of kids' driving habits.

Back to original topic.

You have to reset the OCI at every oil change regardless of it having triggered a warning or not.

It is not mileage based. Nor does it have any sensors directly testing the oil. It is an algorithm that takes into account many parameters that affect oil life. There are threads on the parameters, the actual algorithm is proprietary.

It is designed for conventional oils and is considered to be pretty conservative. one thing it doesn't account for is extremely dusty conditions.

Edit typo: that should be "parents"!!!
Jiblet is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 08:03 AM
ncb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Your mom's house
Posts: 4,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by bogleparsons

Of course big brother knows. They wont stop until everyone has a bug in their ***
This is why I drive my JK with a tin foil hat and underwear.
ncb is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 08:05 AM
mello
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 394
Also info can be directly retrieved from specific modules (abs for example) that you can't retrieve from OBD 2 port. Like black box info on an airplane.
mello is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 09:18 AM
jwmbishop
Accidental Obfuscator
 
jwmbishop's Avatar
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: corsicana
Posts: 6,249
Funny how people can feel that 10 seconds of stored data is a violation of their "privacy" (how private is the speed of your travel, turn signal state, position of brakes etc on a public hiway? Do you have a kill switch on the brake lights to keep brake use a secret?) - but would tap that data in a second to use it in suing the maker for injury they feel was the vehicles fault...

J Wm Bishop EA, ASADE
The wagon should, of course, be as light as possible, but strength should not be sacrificed to lightness, for on any but the regularly traveled roads, the wagon will get many a hard knock...
jwmbishop is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 10:29 AM
LoneWolf
Registered User
 
LoneWolf's Avatar
2009 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Amarillo
Posts: 178
Garage
Jwmbishop, folks' attitude probably has to do with the fact that most of the time, the insurance companies are seeking the information in an effort to deny a claim. The AP ran an extensive story on the phenomenon a few years ago.

'09 JKX: smokeythejeep.wordpress.com 33" Duratracs│TF leveling kit│CC bumpers
LoneWolf is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 10:51 AM
bogleparsons
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: fayetteville
Posts: 1,959
Jwmbishop, usually the people who value their privacy are not the ones who bring frivolous lawsuits.

If it's not supposed to move and does use duct tape.
If it's supposed to move and doesn't use WD40
bogleparsons is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 03:53 PM Thread Starter
wranglerofjeeps
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: reedsville
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiblet View Post

It is not mileage based. Nor does it have any sensors directly testing the oil. It is an algorithm that takes into account many parameters that affect oil life. There are threads on the parameters, the actual algorithm is proprietary.
Thanks! Being that I did not reset it my last two oil changes, I was afraid that if it were in fact sensing different characteristics of the oil, something had went wrong - being that its only been 1500 miles since my last change.
wranglerofjeeps is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 09-06-2013, 04:03 PM
brianjw
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Hillsboro
Posts: 1,366
Thanks for the reminder! I just changed the oil on my 2012 and forgot to reset that.
I'm a create of habit as well, every 3k miles I change the oil and filter, remove/grease driveshafts, rotate tires, grease all front end components and check torque on the suspension/steering components.

On a couple of longer the oil change message came on at 3500-4500 miles.
brianjw is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome