Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

No start, no sounds, all lights working

1K views 18 replies 8 participants last post by  MarkJeter 
#1 ·
Hey, I have my first and last Jeep it's a 2012 Wrangler Sport. Manual transmission. I've been a mechanic for years and can't figure this issue out. I replaced the battery, starter, clutch safety switch and ignition switch. All fuses are good. No DTC, no flashing lights. All lights work as designed. Fuel pump activates in the run position. Any help would be much appreciated!

#4 ·
It's a 2012, the key is coded. I know this as a fact.

Are you seeing the security light on the dash? It will do a bulb check when the rest of the dash does it's thing. It should then go out. If it doesn't, the immobilizer system doesn't recognize your key.

#7 ·
I will definitely sell it as soon as I get it back.
I don't blame you. When my wife caught the flu I wanted to file for divorce. Same principle.

And I for one appreciate your honesty. We all are always on the lookout for good mechanics - you know the ones who stay up on their education, invest in trouble shooting tools and save us consumers money by not just blindly throwing expensive parts at the problem.

Reactions: 222Doc
#8 ·
This is the first Jeep Wrangler I've owned. There are a lot of reasons for my disappointment. Ride quality, seating position, lack of power and lack of room. As far as the mechanic side. I despise mechanic work and would rather throw obvious parts at it, then have the dealership take care of it.

#9 ·
You said you've been a mechanic for years... As a businessman I can't see that as a profitable plan... I can't see anyone I've ever worked for keeping me on payroll for more than a couple weeks, and I am certainly glad my doctor doesn't follow that approach! 😇
Man when you despise your work its time to change careers. Lifes too short...

#11 ·
Lol - right from the pan and into the fire!