Newbie. to Jeep. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > Newbie. to Jeep.

ANOTHER Rockridge4wd Creation!! Spare Tire Carrier Delete ROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shipp

Unread 07-28-2010, 03:35 PM   #1
Jeepluv
2010 JK Wrangler 

Newbie. to Jeep.

Well as the Title says, I'm pretty much a total newbie.. this the whole Jeep, off-roading / crawling / etc. I'm pretty much just looking for a decent bumper for now and a winch.. until i can figure out all this other stuff i need to do.. I was just curious, im thinking of purchasing a warn m8000.. and im not sure.. what i would need they are selling it onM8000 Self-Recovery Winch-RH2

which i thought could be a nice starter? or something just to use when im going trail riding with friends etc.. with their 4x4's.. also im curious on getting a bumper.. i would like a full replacement bumper.. but im not sure.. what i should get and etc.. any ideas wheer to start to look for a bumper..

i know that winch comes with the Fairlead = Roller thing.. i heard you need fairleads.. and also that i read a review you need a winch plate? and a mounting plate? or something for that certain winches need for a bumper..

I'm trying to learn as much as i can reading from google etc. and just can't figure it out..

this is what i got in my head.. I'm trying to purchase the stuff my self so i dont have to go to my jeep dealer and pay them $3000 for a bumper + warn winch + installation.. not sure what bumper/ winch.. i think its a Ranchhand bumper.. but not sure..

The steps i think it goes is..

-buy a bumper.
-winch
-winch mounting plate?
-put on the bumper
-put mounting plate on the bumper?