Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

New to the JK

1K views 15 replies 9 participants last post by  79cj7amc304auto 
#1 ·
I'm starting my research into buying a JK. Family has gotten big enough that the 89 YJ I've been wheeling for the past 12 years or so no longer fits us all. Looking for some opinions on the various years and models of the JK family.

I've done almost all my own work on the YJ, gone from complete amateur to acceptable shade tree level mechanic. I know that the newer models are a completely different animal though.

Jeep will be mostly for wheeling, with some around town running on nice days with the top down. Cost is obviously a consideration, but comfort, bells and whistles, and luxury aren't. I'm trying to keep it under $25k, but that is adjustable depending on what I get for my old rig. Certainly starting lower is better.

Looking for opinions on which model and year gives me the best bang for the buck, whether its buying an already built machine or starting with a stock Unlimited and building it myself.

#3 ·
rubicon17 said:
definitely 2012+ the engine is night and day difference in driveability.
Is the driveability enough of an issue to pony up the extra money for a 2012+ rig? Because I'm seeing a number of early model rigs that are significantly cheaper (duh)

#4 ·
go test drive one of each and you will be amazed. i would never own another wrangler with anything less than the 3.6 it is so much more fun to drive as long as it isnt windy lol and can actually merge into traffic, pass vehicles and gets good mpg for turning 32 inch tires. good solid setup with a powerful little engine.

#5 ·
I think we need to know more about what YOU want in a Jeep.

What type of use, what type of build-up would you want?

Are you rock crawling or running forest trails, at altitude or sea level, how big a lift or tires would you want etc.?

Unlimited or 2dr (that's a pretty big difference).

etc.