Need help with tire problem... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > Need help with tire problem...

~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~** FALL SALE on all Jeep Optic Armor Windshields **Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 05-05-2010, 01:28 PM   #1
saharac
2007 JK Wrangler 

Need help with tire problem...

Hi,
For starters, I am a beginner to the Jeeping world and my knowledge about technical stuff is limited to reading from the forum and other 4 wheeling websites.
Let me tell you a little about my Jeep and my problem..
Its a 2007 Sahara with a 2" Budget Boost, which I have had for the past 10 months. It came with a Wrangler SR/A 245/75/16 size tire, and I realized its smaller that the factory standard only last week... The rear axle gear ratio is 4.10, and hopefully it hasn't been changed by the previous owner. I drive my Jeep to work 40 miles one way, so I care for the fuel economy and a not too bumpy ride as well as the performance as I take it off-road every once in a while..
Now the problem:
Last week as a result of a little mishap where I blew a tire and damaged a wheel, I thought of getting a slightly bigger tire, just for fun, and ended up getting the BFG A/T KO 265/75/16's. I had these balanced and aligned.
But when I drive its pulling to the left on a straight road and also not braking right when coming to a quick stop. There is also a lack of acceleration and I need to rev the engine above 3000 to maintain the speed around 70mph on slight inclines.

What could be the problem?
Can this be caused by the tire alignment being not right?
I had read something about adjusting the ring and pinion gears when you get a bigger tire to maintain the performance, is it recommended??