Locker Question... - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > Locker Question...

TeraFlex Now at Rockridge 4WD! BEST DEALS around!Alloy usa heavy duty ball joint kitsENGO QUADLUX 6" to 54" LED AMBER AND WHITE MULTI

Unread 03-31-2014, 08:33 PM   #1
Will09JK

Locker Question...

So as I'm a noob at this and not all that smart here's my question... I have an '09 JKU with a dana 30 up front and dana 44 in the rear and I'm looking to install an aussie locker but I was told by a friend that if I wasn't ordering both lockers at the same time that I was going to have to get the rear one first?...

Will09JK is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-01-2014, 07:57 AM   #2
duneslider
2007 JK Wrangler 

You can put an Aussie in the front and not have one in the back. If I had to choose I personally would want a back locker before a front though.
duneslider is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 04-01-2014, 10:30 AM   #3
CJ7nvrstk
1985 CJ7 

^^^^^^ This!
Unread 04-01-2014, 10:35 AM   #4
SubAtomicGenius
Sarcastic Fantastic

2011 JK Wrangler 

I'd lock the rear first if you are only doing one at a time.

Special consideration for the Aussie - which I use on the front - you have to ensure that your tire pressures are the SAME and the tires on the same axle assembly are within 3/8" diameter or you'll activate the locker while you are DD. The front tracks a bit offroad, which is manageable - but you can't switch it off like a selectable. Other than that, it is a great locker option in my experience, especially for the price. You're essentially only buying the center section and replacing the spider gears of your open diff carrier.