Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

JK TPMS question (Wheel swap with a TJ)

2K views 27 replies 7 participants last post by  Hilldweller 
#1 ·
I am getting my 2009 Wrangler x today from the dealer. However, I am not happy with the rims (16") and the tires (225) that comes stock with it. I also have a 2000 TJ with 31's on 15 inch rims. Now can I just swap The wheels with my TJ. I know my TJ dose not have TPMS and installing the TJ wheels will mean no TPMS on the new jeep. How bad will it get. Will I be getting a check engine. What can i expect from the swap...Any issues that may arise ...Thank you for all your help guys. I am new to the JK

#2 ·
Different bolt pattern and 15" will not fit over the calipers without grinding some of the wheel and caliper.

#4 ·
You might be able to sell the tires on Craig's list.
BFG KM2 255/85-16 tires will fit right on the stock steelies or you can bite the bullet and buy new wheels and tires like many of us do. Your new bolt pattern is 5 on 5.
If you have stock 3.21 gearing though, you'll likely want to regear after putting on larger tires.

It's worth your time to search out old threads on tire & wheel issues. Consider this forum your archive of wisdom.

#6 ·
Jeep wheels for the JK all suffer from backspace issues for replacement rubber. And dealers usually charge a healthy premium for aftermarket wheels.

Take a look at the Summit website, Quadratec, discounttiredirect, 4wheel parts, 4x4groupbuys, etc. and scope out some package deals; I think you'll be surprised.

#7 ·
you can probably get wheel spacers with different bolt pattern to mount the older wheels and tires on there, people seem to use spacers all the time to kick the tires out a little to prevent rubbing, also i dont think you need to regear if your just putting 31" tires on

#8 ·