JK speed sensor - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > JK speed sensor

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsSave at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft tops

Reply
Unread 03-23-2007, 09:47 AM   #1
greggradwohl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 159
JK speed sensor

How does the JK determine vehicle speed?
Engine rpm, driveshaft, wheel rpm?
Something completely different?

greggradwohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2007, 10:58 AM   #2
infosponge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tampa Bay
Posts: 165
A quick check of the service manual shows that there are two possibilities, but I'm not sure which is actually used. The first is that it uses the transmission output sensor along with the transmission range sensor. The second is that there are four wheel speed sensors as part of the ABS. Not sure which one the PCM uses to determine actual vehicle speed. The section on the speedometer mentions a "Vehicle Speed Sensor" but I didn't see it listed anywhere. Didn't spend much time looking though.

The wiring diagram for the cruise control shows it using the input/output speed sensors, so maybe it is based off the transmission output after all and the ABS sensor use is self contained.
infosponge is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2007, 12:00 PM   #3
greggradwohl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 159
I am wondering if I get some 35s and regear to 4.56, is the computer stuff to work properly. These tire/gears should put me at factory speed per rpm. But, not factory speed per tire revolution. If the JK is looking at tire rotations as well as rpms it might think something bad is happening.
greggradwohl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2007, 12:12 PM   #4
kscobra2004
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lancaster, WI
Posts: 124
In my Mustangs, there was a speed sensor on the side of the transmission. When I regeared, I had to reprogram the computer, same with tire size changes. I am pretty sure the JK is the same set up. It isn't a big deal, if someone would hurry up and come out with a programmer.
kscobra2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2007, 12:15 PM   #5
BigJerm
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: GA
Posts: 1,628
yeah i got 35" tires and im guessing the speeds im at. i have heard jeeps can only calilbrate up to a 33" tire but seen where a few say 32" tire
__________________
07 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
GA Trail Riders
BigJerm is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2007, 12:22 PM   #6
Prot
Web Wheeler
 
Prot's Avatar
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 7,350
32" is what the Rubicon comes with from the factory, so that's the biggest stock size, hence the biggest they probably are set up to flash to now. I wish someone would hurry up and make a programmer for this because it's not just the speedometer, the odometer gets thrown off as well.
Prot is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2007, 02:51 PM   #7
Egmont
Recent Convert & Love It
 
Egmont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: CT USA
Posts: 185
I am certain it get speed from the wheels, it counts the teeth and the computer interprets the info to give us speed.
__________________
Status: Got It and love It
07 Unlimited X Recue Green, 4X4, Khaki Int, Dual Top, Tow, Power, AVIC-Z1
Egmont is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.