JK quirk - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > JK quirk

August special - FREE XJ Unibody stiffeners when you buy a~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~Dan's Old as Dirt Birthday Sale!

Unread 12-18-2006, 07:12 PM   #1
JK_Jeep
2007 JK Wrangler 

JK quirk

Well I took delivery of my 2007 JK on Friday December 15th.

I am an amateur radio operator (ham).

I usually set my radio up in a new vehicle temporarily to make sure everything works in place.

Here is the quirk I found.

I set the radio on top of the dash above the radio.

When showing off the Jeep to my friends I showed them the digital compass at the speedometer. Well no matter what direction I was the compass was showing South East. I though GREAT 1 day old and it has a problem!

Then I thought hmmmmmmmmm maybe the compass sensor is under the platform I have my amateur radio mounted and the magnet from the radio's speaker may be interfering with it.

Removed the radio and the compass worked fine.

If I find anything else I will pass it on

JK_Jeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-18-2006, 07:24 PM   #2
tolh13

yes the compass sensor is right under the top piece.you can pull up and the back part(by the windshield) and tilt froward and you will see.
1996 Harley (bad boy)
1973 WV thing
mark
tolh13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-18-2006, 08:36 PM   #3
Thunderstrike
Web Wheeler

2009 JK Wrangler 

I think the compass sensor is under the top cover just above the radio the precise location you placed the ham radio. I take it the built in speaker of the ham radio is at the bottom chassis?