JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   JK Wrangler Technical Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f96/)
-   -   jk for family? (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f96/jk-family-1525720/)

dodgethejeep 05-20-2013 12:08 AM

jk for family?

Wife wants to trade her tacoma for a 4 door jk. We don't use the bed often enough to really need a small/midsize truck, and suv's are nice on road trips having cargo area right behind seat. We do end up doing some towing couple times a year, ie boat, cargo trailer. What are the pros and cons of a jk? We loved our TJ had it for years, and resently got a YJ so i can't coment on it yet. I have no experience with a jk. Wife wants to be able to take doors and top off like we did in TJ. I would like to do some mild to bland off roading when we visit family instead of saying "sorry left the Jeep at home". Looking for opinions from people who have these and search forum option don't work on tablet. This jeep would not be a hard core build got the YJ for that.

ALKNOPE 05-20-2013 12:36 AM

Do it, we love ours as a family vehicle. Plus my kid thinks it's the coolest vehicle ever especially when we have the top down and doors off. If your only hauling small things like you stated you'll be fine. It's the best of all three worlds...... convertible for fun summer vehicle/family vehicle/great in the winter (especially since i live in northern canada). Can't loose man.

djm 05-20-2013 12:43 AM

I am on my 20th jeep over all, my second JKU. Love them so far. The JKU (the 4 dr jeep) does everything I ask of it. Very versatile, changes up any way I want/need it to be. a nice going to town vehicle when I want to do that. Great on the road trips, lots of room for "stuff" in the back. Becomes a convertible in the nice weather and a cocoon in the nasty winter weather. Plus, it takes me just about anywhere I ask it to. Up the mountains, out on the beach, on the road, off the road.