Jeep Dealer HAS to be WRONG!! - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > Jeep Dealer HAS to be WRONG!!

Building a Bumper?Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 07-25-2010, 08:22 AM   #1
OKBryan

Jeep Dealer HAS to be WRONG!!

Hello:

My name is Bryan and I am new to Jeeps and to this forum.

I recently purchased a new 2010 Jeep Wrangler with V6 and auto transmission. I have a question that I hope you experts can help me with.

I wish to pull a 5 X 8 enclosed cargo trailer which weighs about 1500 lbs. Nearily every truck that I have owned states I should have a transmission cooler installed to protect the transmission. All the trailer companies that I have delt with in the past suggest the same thing--get a trans cooler.

I went to dealership that I purchased the Jeep from and service manager advised he didn't think Jeep made one. I asked him again and he advised he would ask their Jeep rep. 11 days later I called and he advised that it would cost $848.00 for Jeep brand.

That sounded high so I took Jeep to another dealer and the service rep. there stated they would install a Jeep trans. cooler for $700.00. Then one of the mechanics came out and advised me I didn't need it because I had automatic transmission and that they all came with the trans cooler already installed!!?? I also told him I read on the Jeep web site that I needed a special transmission fluid when pulling a trailer. Again, he stated I didn't need it as it came with auto transmissions.