I am a noob to modifications and request assistance - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > I am a noob to modifications and request assistance

The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Building a Bumper?Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 07-08-2014, 01:37 PM   #1
Jeep_Layden
2008 JK Wrangler 

I am a noob to modifications and request assistance

I have a 2008 JK Sahara Unlimited. I am thinking of putting 35" tires on it with 18" rims. I also was thinking of putting a 3.75" suspension lift.

What pros and cons should I be aware of before pulling the trigger on this expense?

I live in Nashville and will also be using this vehicle for commuting about 40 miles round trip per day.

Jeep_Layden is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-08-2014, 02:12 PM   #2
HappyTrails
Registered Voter w/ID

2008 JK Wrangler 

Simple, you need only 2.5" of lift to fit 35's on the JK.

Save the extra money from not going to 3.5"+ of lift. Best bet is to try to keep a lift to the minimal necessary. Go over 3" and things start becoming more complicated and very expensive.

For a great on-highway ride, check out AEV 2.5" lift kits.
Do a search, also. There are 1000's of threads out here about different lift kits. Just depends on your budget and what you intend to do with your JK.
Re-inventing the circle and straight line.
HappyTrails is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-08-2014, 02:45 PM   #3
222Doc
2012 JK Wrangler 

35"s might be thinking gears. or MPG will be lost and power
Unread 07-08-2014, 03:03 PM   #4
Jeep_Layden
2008 JK Wrangler 

Ok, so staying at the 3" lift range then. Will the 35s fit under comfortably? Do I need to worry about brake lines or other gear ratio issues?