Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

How to perform a 6000 mile service.

37K views 76 replies 48 participants last post by  John45 
#1 ·
Disclaimer: I am not a Jeep engineer or certified mechanic.

Things you will need:

-Creeper (optional)
-x2 Jackstands
-Scissor Jack (found in your storage compartment)
-Lug Wrench
-13mm Socket w/extension and ratchet
-Oil filter wrench
-7qt Mobil1 5w-20 Full Synthetic oil
-Fram ToughGuard TG3614 oil filter
-Oil pan
-Funnel
-Oil rag
-Prestone Complete Fuel System Cleaner (Optional)
-Chock block(s)
-x1 JK Wrangler

Tire Rotation: To prevent uneven wear because all of your tires do not wear the same.

Remember to put the Jeep in PARK and chock the front wheels before jacking it up. The lift points are fairly easy to find, pretty much anywhere on the axles does the trick, however the closer you can put it to the wheel the more stable it will be.

Removing the lugs from the wheel will take some force, applying pressure with your foot does the trick for stubborn lugs. Remember to inspect your brake lines for anything fishy after you remove each wheel.

This is the tire rotation diagram:

-----------------

Once you have completed rotating the tires move your oil drip pan under the oil drain plug on your Jeep.

Now take your 13mm socket and begin to loosen the drain plug, make sure the Jeep has been off for a while before doing this otherwise your hand will get scalded by oil.

Remove the plug by hand once it is loose so it doesn't shoot off and get dirty or lost, and let the oil flow.

After about 10 minutes the oil should have slowed to a slow drip, go ahead and reinstall the drain plug. After you have done that, scoot the oil pan under the oil filter area.

Now get up, grab your oil filter wrench, and remove the filter (working from the top gives you more leverage and avoids the chance of you getting splashed with oil).

Once you have removed the filter, let the oil in it drain into the pan and put it in the new filter box.