How many have Pentastar engines that are OK? - Page 25 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > How many have Pentastar engines that are OK?

Savvy Billet LED Tail LightsLight up the holidays with LED lights from JeepHutIntroducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Closed Thread
Unread 11-26-2013, 04:51 AM   #361
94beachxj
1994 XJ Cherokee 

I drive over the road for a living,and the newer Volvo tractors do a simular thing on the AC thing. I can be going down the road for 5 hrs, then stop somewhere and idle a bit then it starts blowing hot air out of the vents. I asked the shop if its a defrost mode or something. They said "who knows".......................lol.

94beachxj is offline   Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-27-2013, 01:23 PM   #362
tjthorson
2014 JK Wrangler 

Quote:
Originally Posted by 94beachxj View Post
I drive over the road for a living,and the newer Volvo tractors do a simular thing on the AC thing. I can be going down the road for 5 hrs, then stop somewhere and idle a bit then it starts blowing hot air out of the vents. I asked the shop if its a defrost mode or something. They said "who knows".......................lol.
This is different. The compressor continues to run. The blower actually turns off for 5 seconds or so, and comes right back on. The lights on the cluster stay on - this is the ECM controlling the blower motor itself (probably a CAN BUS bug).
And it always happens during a consistent scenario - however, it isn't repeatable, doesn't do ti all the time.

But - you must have - A/C on, blower on high, hot day, engine running for approx. 2 minutes. It will do it once per key cycle only. Not enough to be a problem - just annoying more then anything.