Fuses mislabeled? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > Fuses mislabeled?

FS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Nitro Gear Packages Now Available at Rockridge 4wdGear Packages Available! Your # 1 Diff Shop is ROCKRIDGE 4

Reply
Unread 06-02-2013, 05:55 PM   #1
Hedgie
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Fuses mislabeled?

I feel like an idiot. I installed a Lockpick CHR550 with rear camera. Worked great. Tried the 0-60 timer and it froze on that TV "Channel" would not leave. To reset I looked online and the simplest thing to do is pull the radio fuse. I have a 2013 JK, so the book clearly says it is a 15 amp fuse in M10. Pulled it - nothing. Thought I did not have it out long enough so I tried again - this time with the radio on - it is not M10. Unless I am totally misreading the fusebox, that fuse is not controlling the radio.

Did I miss something? Was able to reboot by pulling the Lockpick cable, but still confused.

Hedgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-02-2013, 06:13 PM   #2
ronjenx
Web Wheeler
 
ronjenx's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,870
Try fuse M12, 30 amp.
ronjenx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-02-2013, 06:24 PM   #3
Hedgie
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Thanks! I was looking in the owners manual that just arrived. Will have to see if they sent wrong year.
Hedgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-02-2013, 06:31 PM   #4
ronjenx
Web Wheeler
 
ronjenx's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,870
It's M12 on my 2008, too, so I imagine it's the same on all the JKs.
ronjenx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-02-2013, 07:46 PM   #5
Hedgie
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
ok just to prove I am not crazy - I assumed RADIO meant radio.
manual-page.jpg  
Hedgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-02-2013, 07:59 PM   #6
ronjenx
Web Wheeler
 
ronjenx's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedgie View Post
ok just to prove I am not crazy - I assumed RADIO meant radio.
My 2008 owner's manual shows the same thing.
Fuse M10 doesn't appear to be radio related in the 2008 or 2013 wiring diagrams, though.
ronjenx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-03-2013, 12:20 PM   #7
jwmbishop
Registered User
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: corsicana, tx
Posts: 3,322
RADIO has two circuits - always hot and switched.

Always hot (M10) does not completely remove all power (pulling it should still allow the radio to play when switched circuit is powered to acc or ign - and radio will turn off instantly with key regardless of delay setting - but will not show the display or answer phone etc when the radio is off) - switched (M12) is the one that should fully reset it - may even need BOTH pulled.

Very poor labeling.
__________________
J Wm Bishop EA, ASADE
How to start an online argument - express opinion - wait.
jwmbishop is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-03-2013, 12:44 PM   #8
Hedgie
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Thanks! That makes sense. In any event, I got it rebooted - their customer service is suggesting i need a firmware update that should fix the problem.
Hedgie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-03-2013, 04:28 PM   #9
ronjenx
Web Wheeler
 
ronjenx's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,870
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwmbishop View Post
RADIO has two circuits - always hot and switched.

Always hot (M10) does not completely remove all power (pulling it should still allow the radio to play when switched circuit is powered to acc or ign - and radio will turn off instantly with key regardless of delay setting - but will not show the display or answer phone etc when the radio is off) - switched (M12) is the one that should fully reset it - may even need BOTH pulled.

Very poor labeling.
Do you have a wiring diagram that shows what is fed by fuse M10?
ronjenx is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-04-2013, 09:39 AM   #10
jwmbishop
Registered User
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: corsicana, tx
Posts: 3,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronjenx View Post
Do you have a wiring diagram that shows what is fed by fuse M10?
No - the only wiring diagrams I have are the ones on disc that only show whats needed per trouble code.
__________________
J Wm Bishop EA, ASADE
How to start an online argument - express opinion - wait.
jwmbishop is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.