Fuses mislabeled? - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 06-02-2013, 05:55 PM Thread Starter
Hedgie
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Fuses mislabeled?

I feel like an idiot. I installed a Lockpick CHR550 with rear camera. Worked great. Tried the 0-60 timer and it froze on that TV "Channel" would not leave. To reset I looked online and the simplest thing to do is pull the radio fuse. I have a 2013 JK, so the book clearly says it is a 15 amp fuse in M10. Pulled it - nothing. Thought I did not have it out long enough so I tried again - this time with the radio on - it is not M10. Unless I am totally misreading the fusebox, that fuse is not controlling the radio.

Did I miss something? Was able to reboot by pulling the Lockpick cable, but still confused.

Hedgie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 06-02-2013, 06:13 PM
ronjenx
Web Wheeler
 
ronjenx's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,562
Try fuse M12, 30 amp.
ronjenx is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 06-02-2013, 06:24 PM Thread Starter
Hedgie
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Thanks! I was looking in the owners manual that just arrived. Will have to see if they sent wrong year.
Hedgie is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 06-02-2013, 06:31 PM
ronjenx
Web Wheeler
 
ronjenx's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,562
It's M12 on my 2008, too, so I imagine it's the same on all the JKs.
ronjenx is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 06-02-2013, 07:46 PM Thread Starter
Hedgie
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
ok just to prove I am not crazy - I assumed RADIO meant radio.
Attached Thumbnails
manual page.jpg  
Hedgie is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 06-02-2013, 07:59 PM
ronjenx
Web Wheeler
 
ronjenx's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedgie View Post
ok just to prove I am not crazy - I assumed RADIO meant radio.
My 2008 owner's manual shows the same thing.
Fuse M10 doesn't appear to be radio related in the 2008 or 2013 wiring diagrams, though.
ronjenx is online now  
post #7 of 10 Old 06-03-2013, 12:20 PM
jwmbishop
Accidental Obfuscator
 
jwmbishop's Avatar
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: corsicana
Posts: 6,163
RADIO has two circuits - always hot and switched.

Always hot (M10) does not completely remove all power (pulling it should still allow the radio to play when switched circuit is powered to acc or ign - and radio will turn off instantly with key regardless of delay setting - but will not show the display or answer phone etc when the radio is off) - switched (M12) is the one that should fully reset it - may even need BOTH pulled.

Very poor labeling.

J Wm Bishop EA, ASADE
The wagon should, of course, be as light as possible, but strength should not be sacrificed to lightness, for on any but the regularly traveled roads, the wagon will get many a hard knock...
jwmbishop is online now  
post #8 of 10 Old 06-03-2013, 12:44 PM Thread Starter
Hedgie
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 10
Thanks! That makes sense. In any event, I got it rebooted - their customer service is suggesting i need a firmware update that should fix the problem.
Hedgie is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 06-03-2013, 04:28 PM
ronjenx
Web Wheeler
 
ronjenx's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwmbishop View Post
RADIO has two circuits - always hot and switched.

Always hot (M10) does not completely remove all power (pulling it should still allow the radio to play when switched circuit is powered to acc or ign - and radio will turn off instantly with key regardless of delay setting - but will not show the display or answer phone etc when the radio is off) - switched (M12) is the one that should fully reset it - may even need BOTH pulled.

Very poor labeling.
Do you have a wiring diagram that shows what is fed by fuse M10?
ronjenx is online now  
post #10 of 10 Old 06-04-2013, 09:39 AM
jwmbishop
Accidental Obfuscator
 
jwmbishop's Avatar
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: corsicana
Posts: 6,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronjenx View Post
Do you have a wiring diagram that shows what is fed by fuse M10?
No - the only wiring diagrams I have are the ones on disc that only show whats needed per trouble code.

J Wm Bishop EA, ASADE
The wagon should, of course, be as light as possible, but strength should not be sacrificed to lightness, for on any but the regularly traveled roads, the wagon will get many a hard knock...
jwmbishop is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome