factory sub??? - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-13-2013, 11:37 AM Thread Starter
broken-wrangler
Registered User
1992 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Walla Walla
Posts: 223
factory sub???

so I just bought a JKUR and it has the alpine sub in the back. I know that with the searching I have done, the sub is pretty much worthless, but is there a way to bridge the sub across the ohms and make it bump the voltage it is receiving? i would rather not purchase a new replacement sub at the moment but im trying to see if i can manage to get this thing to bump just a little harder. It does seem like it could handle much more than what it is seeing right now.


Josh Ashley

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
broken-wrangler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-13-2013, 11:41 AM
Wavedatya
Registered User
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Clarington county
Posts: 1,369
My 2010 with Infiniti sounds great! Goo enough for my needs. I have the bass at -4 and it still pumps pretty good. Maybe yours isn't working

OF4WD member #7523. Durham 4x4 member.
Wavedatya is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-13-2013, 11:55 AM Thread Starter
broken-wrangler
Registered User
1992 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Walla Walla
Posts: 223
No it works. It's the the alpine 8inch it's just sad

Josh Ashley

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
broken-wrangler is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-13-2013, 12:16 PM
COLOUXJ
Registered User
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 2,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by broken-wrangler View Post
sis there a way to bridge the sub across the ohms and make it bump the voltage it is receiving?.
How the hell do you bridge ohms? If you do not know what ohms are I would not mess with anything involving electricity in your jeep.


There are several threads around here about upgrading the sound system on the JK's. Use the search bar to look for it.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
COLOUXJ is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-13-2013, 12:25 PM Thread Starter
broken-wrangler
Registered User
1992 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Walla Walla
Posts: 223
Yes I know what ohms are. You can take a 4 ohm sub and take it down to two ohms by bridging either side.

Josh Ashley

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
broken-wrangler is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-13-2013, 01:45 PM
Demp
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mobile
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by broken-wrangler View Post
Yes I know what ohms are. You can take a 4 ohm sub and take it down to two ohms by bridging either side.
That is a simplified idea of it, yes. To nitpick your original question you don't increase voltage by changing resistance, you change the current flow :P

The factory sub is a 2ohm DVC. I would suspect it can handle more power but the problem is the factory amp. The amp has two channels that feed the sub's two coils. If you bridge them and run off one channel at 1ohm you will most likely destroy the factory amp. If you tried to bridge the channels you are likely to destroy it as well.

The factory amp, being OEM, doesn't have any real published stats on bridgability or ohm stability. The sub's power rating isn't published either for the same reasons. Top it off with the fact the factory amp rolls off the very low end (Can't hear under 30hz when I had my factory setup) and you have quite a few things stacked against good bass.

The easiest solution is to either gut the factory system or get something that does line level conversion, a bass restorer, and a new amp/sub.
Demp is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-13-2013, 09:40 PM Thread Starter
broken-wrangler
Registered User
1992 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Walla Walla
Posts: 223
I have a sub and amp but the subs a 10inch so I'll have to get a different sub. I was just hoping to get more out of this one since it doesn't really look that bad of a sub.

Josh Ashley

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
broken-wrangler is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome