Engine Noise/Knocking. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > Engine Noise/Knocking.

Jeep Grand Cherokee Headlight AssembliesJeep Wrangler Wheel Bearing & Hub - FrontPremium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDG

Unread 05-09-2014, 08:10 AM   #1
Fierdon
2008 JK Wrangler 

Engine Noise/Knocking.

So, my Jeep has been sitting for a few weeks now. Just before that, on my way home on the interstate, getting off on the ramp I heard a knocking noise coming from the engine. I checked the oil and it was low, so I topped it off and the noise isn't as loud, but it is still slightly noticeable. I'm guessing that there is probably some damage, perhaps a rod? But I'm no mechanic and not sure what I'm in for. I was told by a buddy that if there is a bent rod it would sound like that and I could be looking at a new motor.. I haven't had the Jeep long, I bought it used from a local dealership and have barely put any mileage on it.

Any input is appreciated, hope I'm not in for an expensive repair, as I cannot afford it.

Fierdon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-09-2014, 08:20 AM   #2
BruceM1964
2013 JK Wrangler 

How low was the oil. If you ran it too low you could have spun a bearing or other internal damage, it would need a rebuild.
BruceM1964 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-09-2014, 08:22 AM   #3
JIMBOX
Web Wheeler
2008 JK Wrangler 

Well, you don't say how many miles onit/how long you've hadit/w warranty-etc-

Likely a burned/compromised rod BEARING and notta bent rod---unless you ran thru some deep water-

Not enough info, but my guess is, if you can't use your warranty (30/60/90 day)--yes it'll be expensive !

Good luck

JIMBO
JIMBOX is online now   Reply With Quote