Common Problems with JK - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > Common Problems with JK

FS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueRough Country Lift Kits and Parts!The ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Unread 11-30-2006, 08:00 AM   #1
fraynes1

Common Problems with JK

I am a newbie to the jeep and was and am concerned with a "first" production of anything. Just bought Unlimited X last Friday, am very happy with it.

Have seen some problems referred to but not in any detail.

Have heard it leaks oil; if so where; also problems with the paint, what is the problem. Are there remedies to fix any of these problems by the factory? Are there any other problems that I need to watch for?

I am not mechanically inclined so dumbing down responses would be great.

Thanks in advance. Like I said before very happy with the Unlimited X, just want to watch for any problems now or in the future.

fraynes1

fraynes1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-30-2006, 09:04 AM   #2
tennistom1
2009 JK Wrangler 

I havn't seen anything about leaking oil so figure it was an isolated problem. I used to drive English sports cars alot before they all rusted away. They all leaked oil--in a modern vehicle that would be a quaint throw-back for me and would remind me of all the exciteing driving experiences I had in my MG's, Healeys and Mini-coopers, especially putitng out fires under the dash without having to pull over, always kept a leather jacket handy for snuffing flames.

There was a lenghty thread here about paint issues around the door hinges, with pictures. My concerns on that one were somewhat allayed when someone mentioned other parts of heeps have primer only like the tub floor and underneath.