can the stock radio connect to an amp to power a sub? - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 09-16-2010, 11:52 PM Thread Starter
mudman1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 18
can the stock radio connect to an amp to power a sub?

hi everyone, i'm thinking about getting a sub and an amp..but i want to keep the stock radio. any time in my life that i've had a good car stereo, it got stolen.

so, does the stock radio even have the ability to connect to a an amp with a sub?

thanks

mudman1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 09-17-2010, 12:15 AM
KaboomNuggets
Registered User
2009 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Woodlands Tx.
Posts: 20
It sure can. With (what we use to call a step down) don't know the technical name for it you can add a sub and amp to pretty much any radio. Just make sure you get a bass control knob for the amp so you can controll the output of the sub.
KaboomNuggets is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 09-17-2010, 12:21 AM
CHIPMAKER
Registered User
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: QC
Posts: 205
Asuming you dont have a factory sub, you will need an adaptor. Maybe this would work...

Axxess ALOC608 - Line-Out Converters - Sonic Electronix

Also there are many amps that will accept speaker level connections. Some will even turn on when detecting a signal, then you don't need a turn on wire.

2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
1997 Lo Tahoe
2012 Ram Shorty Lo
2013 Honda F6B
CHIPMAKER is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 09-17-2010, 06:59 PM
Unlimited2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 334
easy to tap into the front speakers with the line out converter, run he amp power wire though the p/s side of the dashboard (will post pics later), mount the amp under the p/s front seat (pleanty of room)!!!!! lock the box and sub to the car seat securing loops in the back. Makes it easy to remove if needed when not locked!!!!!

-R
Unlimited2010 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 09-17-2010, 07:18 PM
Unlimited2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 334
Pic of my sub! too dark to take other pics now!

-R
Attached Thumbnails
DSC_0033.JPG  
Unlimited2010 is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 09-17-2010, 08:10 PM
LIMETIME
Registered User
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Saint Augustine, FL
Posts: 147
I am in the process of doing this now. What % did you adjust the line level converter to?

2010 Surf Blue - Beach Duty
LIMETIME is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 09-18-2010, 10:53 AM
Unlimited2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 334
you are probably going to set according to your preference. sure it will be different for each onverter, amps, head units.........

per my pics, see where i ran the power wire through. puts it right by the battery.

plenty of room for amp as shown in my pic, too.

-R
Attached Thumbnails
DSC_0007.JPG   DSC_0009 (2).JPG   DSC_0008.JPG  
Unlimited2010 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 09-18-2010, 04:20 PM
LIMETIME
Registered User
2010 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Saint Augustine, FL
Posts: 147
I set mine up similar to yours, but I was able to hide all of the wiring under the carpet. The side where I made the amp connections is where the center console is, so no wires are visible.

2010 Surf Blue - Beach Duty
LIMETIME is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 09-18-2010, 07:44 PM
allibaster
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sheridan
Posts: 607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unlimited2010 View Post
you are probably going to set according to your preference. sure it will be different for each onverter, amps, head units.........

per my pics, see where i ran the power wire through. puts it right by the battery.

plenty of room for amp as shown in my pic, too.

-R
What converter did you use?

'13 JKU 10th Anniversary
allibaster is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 09-18-2010, 08:59 PM
Unlimited2010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by allibaster View Post
What converter did you use?

they were ones i picked up back in 1998 from radio shack for $15.XX i believe. no ides on brand. sorry.

can check later.

i have never been great with wire management........this is actually pretty good. you can't see them unless you bend down and look under the seats!!!!!

-R
Unlimited2010 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 09-18-2014, 06:57 AM
gambit1026
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: chelsea
Posts: 2
Can anyone tell me the color of the 4 front speaker wires going back to the stereo
gambit1026 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 09-18-2014, 06:59 AM
gambit1026
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: chelsea
Posts: 2
Or a pic would be awesome
gambit1026 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 09-18-2014, 07:48 AM
TexanTJ
Registered User
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,176
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudman1 View Post
hi everyone, i'm thinking about getting a sub and an amp..but i want to keep the stock radio. any time in my life that i've had a good car stereo, it got stolen.

so, does the stock radio even have the ability to connect to a an amp with a sub?

thanks
Mudman- When amp shopping look for one that have "speaker level inputs".

Going this route, you can locate one of the rear speaker channel wires off your roll bar, splice the speaker level input in, your're good to go. (no need to even pull the head unit.)

Then run your remote power turn on wire to an ACC power supply that comes on with the ignition.

Also, if you already have an amp and it doesnt have the speaker level input, you can purchase something like this
http://www.crutchfield.com/shopsearc...vel_input.html

2014 JKU Sport - Wife's Mall Crawler on 35s. Badlands Winch, 2" Coil Spacers, 1" PA BL
1999 F250 7.3 - 290K Miles and Counting
"I am not going to censor myself to comfort your ignorance."
TexanTJ is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 09-18-2014, 09:05 AM
JoonHoss
Registered User
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Washington State
Posts: 6,964
I had been told many times by many people that the factory head unit has the sound (base, specifically) frequencies tapered off, and that you can't/won't get a full range of base to amplify from the factory head unit?

Hoss

"Genius may have its limitations, but stupidity is not thus handicapped."
JoonHoss is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
Stock bumper with no D rings, what do I connect a tow strap to? Pallando TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 22 12-04-2009 03:55 PM
U-Connect Question with RES radio ace22 JK Wrangler Technical Forum 3 09-09-2009 10:28 AM
TJ stock bumper tow bar connect parks31 TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 0 05-07-2009 09:32 PM
Radio Stole - Should I get a stock radio? veddhead TJ Wrangler Technical Forum 5 03-20-2007 11:20 AM
No Power to Radio YKnot YJ Wrangler Technical Forum 7 03-21-2006 01:19 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome