Buying 08 X w/auto 3.73 gears and 17x7.5 Tire size question - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > Buying 08 X w/auto 3.73 gears and 17x7.5 Tire size question

Trick Tabs - NalinMFG.comECGS American Made Stub ShaftsDisc Brake Kits from ECGS

Unread 07-01-2007, 03:06 PM   #1
dstephns
2008 JK Wrangler 

Buying 08 X w/auto 3.73 gears and 17x7.5 Tire size question

HI everyone and thanks ahead of time. I'm new to Jeep Wranglers and I'm going to order an 08 X 2dr with auto and 3.73 diff. My understanding is that the tire diameter on the stock X's is 28" (?). I'm thinking of going with the 17X 7.5 and the stock Rubicon tires 32" diameter tires. My off roading will be mostly on snowy and muddy rutted forest roads and some pretty long highway grades 6% or so - nothing spectacular and not 4 wheel drive. Am I going to take a big hit with highway driving with the 17x7.5 wheels and 32" diameter tires w/3.73 diff? If so can you recomend a tire size (other than stock X) that I would see little negative impact. Also, should I just keep the stockers and don't worry about it. They just look a little small to me. Everything else will remain stock. Thanks.

dstephns is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2007, 03:19 PM   #2
UTAH

Welcome to the forum, dstephns.

Your drivability should be just fine with 32" tires and that axle ratio (3.73). Having said that, there're a few things I think you could do to keep your JK more highway friendly.