JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   JK Wrangler Technical Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f96/)
-   -   Another noob (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f96/another-noob-1601985/)

DrunkSailor 09-19-2013 07:48 AM

Another noob

Hi everyone,

Im fairly new to the JK community and just purchased a 2013 Black JKU. My 5
meter target is new tires and wheels. Before I go into what I want, let me
explain why I want and what my intentions of use are.

This Jk will be my daily ride. I do intend on off-roading, not rock climbing,
just some mud trails and very mild if any rocks. Potentially if I get the
itch, it may turn into a project much further down the road but not
now. I'm currently stationed in South Florida but next year will be making
the drive across country to San Diego, so those are my current and
prospective terrains.

As far as what I'm looking at doing in the next 2 years are your standard
noob upgrades. Tires, wheels, side steps, pocket flares, front and rear
bumper, intake and exhaust.

I love the look of a mean meaty knobby tire and a wide stance.

I went and started looking at purchasing 33's mainly because I just cant
afford to bump up to 35s because of the necessity of a lift. Currently I am
looking at Mickey Thompson ATZ or MTZ along with the 17" classic III wheels.

Now my predicament is this: I've been reading up in detail on what tire is
best for what and it seems like the deeper I read the more I realize I have
no idea what I'm talking about lol. Now since this JK will be my daily drive I
wanted to also balance performance, looks, road manners, versatility and safety

So I wanted to get your point of view on this situation to balance what I
want, what I need, and what I can afford.

I want to hear what you think about this. I'm sure this is a repeated
question on this forum so if there are links to obvious answers please share
them. But I would actually appreciate your thoughts

Cheers fellas

:cheers2: