Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Amp'd 2dr Build

21K views 160 replies 16 participants last post by  biggn235 
#1 ·
I have always made build threads for my Jeeps in the past, and I have decided it is about time to start one for the JK.

I bought my JK in December 2014 after going to my local Jeep dealership to check out a silver 06 LJ. The LJ didn't do it for me, so I left with a JK instead. It had one previous owner that had originally bought it in Washington state, drove it to NC, and traded it in for a 4 door. It had low miles, was in perfect condition, and the dealership had just threw on some black AEV Savegre wheels with new 265/70/17 Toyo Open Country ATs. It was only on the lot for 3 hours before I bought it.

First pic of the new Jeep when I got home that night.

I hadn't had an open top Jeep since my old YJ when I was a sophomore in college, so the JK was like having an old friend back. (A much quieter, and much more powerful friend.)

Specs-
2014 Amp'd 2dr Sport
6 speed
30/44
3.21 gears

See less See more
#3 ·
Had some nice weather a few days later, took the opportunity to take the top down for the first time.

After that it was time to start some mods. First up was a CB and some stickers. I went with a Uniden 510 because it was the cheapest, smallest radio I could find, and a 3ft Firefly on a quick disconnect, mounted to the tailgate.

I ended up finding some 17/58 springs and Rubicon shocks on Craigslist off of a brand new 2015 4 door for $150.

#4 ·
Before I had time to get the new springs and shocks on, I took the Jeep on its first wheeling trip in the mountains.

Following my buddy in his TJ on the way to Boone.

I don't have a lot of pictures from that day. I do have a lot of GoPro footage but I haven't done anything with it yet. Maybe I'll edit a few short videos up later. I do have one video of my friend creek crawling with his TJ. My Jeep makes a small cameo.

Video-

Sway disconnected.

And some more shooting.