AEV's Procal Module 08 Wrangler - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 09-27-2013, 12:59 PM Thread Starter
leeg2000
Registered User
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cookeville
Posts: 46
AEV's Procal Module 08 Wrangler

So i had my transmission looked because its doesnt seem to be shifting correctly. After Mr Transmission done their test, they said it needed to be reprogrammed per a TSB. Which will cost about $80 from the dealership. Question is does anyone know if AEV's procal will reprogram it? i know it does a lot of different things with newer JK's. Wasnt sure about my model though. any input would be great. thanks

leeg2000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 09-27-2013, 02:41 PM
ROCKR8R
Registered User
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 348
Reprogrammed how? What is your tranny doing? Are you running bigger tires and a lift?

-Dan
ROCKR8R is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 09-27-2013, 03:57 PM
RockyClymer
RedRock4Wheeler
 
RockyClymer's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,804
ditto - all the Procal does is take the revised tire diameter and diff gear ratio into account to reset the auto shift points...if your auto is currently working, then why would it need reprogrammed? Your profile does not seem to indicate lift or large tire use.

08 JK 23S - Colorado Jeep Club No. 204
Too much to list - see my profile for details on build
16 JK Rubi with all the trimmings
NRA Life member
"It takes a special kind of stupid to believe criminals will follow gun laws."
I do not consider myself a smartass. I point out the obvious, search for the truth, and speak fluent sarcasm. I am, by experience, an accomplished curmudgeon.
RockyClymer is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 09-27-2013, 04:01 PM Thread Starter
leeg2000
Registered User
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cookeville
Posts: 46
It's not shifting correctly. For instance if it's in 3rd gear and I'm going up a hill it "bogs" down but never shifts to second. It's the same thing if I'm off-road and it's in second gear if I'm going up a hill at a slow pace it will bog down and never switch to 1st gear it would probably die if I didn't manually change it or completely let off the gas pedal. I looked up the tsb for it and in 2009 I believe it was posted and it had to do with the trani not changing between 1 and 2nd like it's supposed too. And yes I'm running 305/70r16 With a 2.5 inch lift.
leeg2000 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 09-27-2013, 04:37 PM
RockyClymer
RedRock4Wheeler
 
RockyClymer's Avatar
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,804
Yeah, that is basically a 33 in tire...guess you need some re-flashing of your ECM at the dealer.

08 JK 23S - Colorado Jeep Club No. 204
Too much to list - see my profile for details on build
16 JK Rubi with all the trimmings
NRA Life member
"It takes a special kind of stupid to believe criminals will follow gun laws."
I do not consider myself a smartass. I point out the obvious, search for the truth, and speak fluent sarcasm. I am, by experience, an accomplished curmudgeon.
RockyClymer is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 09-27-2013, 04:52 PM Thread Starter
leeg2000
Registered User
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cookeville
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by RockyClymer View Post
Yeah, that is basically a 33 in tire...guess you need some re-flashing of your ECM at the dealer.
Yeah. The main reason I was asking is because I found a place that is selling the module for $80. But if it won't fix the issue I won't bother.
leeg2000 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 09-27-2013, 05:57 PM
Spank
Registered User
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,273
Reprogramming for aftermarket parts is different than reprogramming per a TSB. Were you given a number for reference?

'14 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon
Spank is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 09-27-2013, 06:14 PM
JIMBOX
Registered User
2008 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NORCAL/NORNV
Posts: 7,212
The TSB can correct certain shifting parameters,but the dealer won't corrrect the shift requirements for 33" tires, you'll hafta get at least a AEVPM-

Mine has allowed me to alter my shift avenues whenever I want a tiresize change--

There are many other programs available in the AEVPM and for $149 bucks it's well worthit-

I've used mine for over 4 years with no problemo-

JIMBO

Yellow Jeep No. 683
http://i294.photobucket.com/albums/m...10-snow027.jpg
--YA GOTTA HAVE CLASS--
JIMBOX is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 09-28-2013, 06:42 PM Thread Starter
leeg2000
Registered User
2014 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: cookeville
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
The TSB can correct certain shifting parameters,but the dealer won't corrrect the shift requirements for 33" tires, you'll hafta get at least a AEVPM-

Mine has allowed me to alter my shift avenues whenever I want a tiresize change--

There are many other programs available in the AEVPM and for $149 bucks it's well worthit-

I've used mine for over 4 years with no problemo-

JIMBO
Thanks! I'll just the module. Planned on buying one eventually, gives me a better excuse to get one lol
leeg2000 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome