Adding amp to Alpine system - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Wrangler Forums > JK Wrangler Technical Forum > Adding amp to Alpine system

Trick Tabs - NalinMFG.comWarn, Smitybilt, Engo, Rugged Ridge Winches at CCORClayton Off Road XJ Long Arm Suspension Systems!

Reply
Unread 04-23-2013, 02:23 PM   #1
HouTexs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 94
Adding amp to Alpine system

2013 Jk Sahara and I am planning to maintain the factory 730 unit. I am planning to install a AudioControl Lc8i and 5 channel amp. My question is, do I get the signal for the Lc8 from before or after the factory "upgraded" Alpine amp that's there now?

I have heard it both ways, but want to make sure to retain all functionality. Then, once I have the signal coming out of the amp, do I just run the speaker wires from there back to were I spliced out to get the signal or do you pull new wires from the amp to all of the speaker locations?

I am wondering if this is a project better left to the experts, but would love to save some money for other upgrades!

HouTexs is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-23-2013, 02:27 PM   #2
toxicwaste29
Registered User
2012 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 740
Dont understand what you mean by this but go for it
toxicwaste29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-23-2013, 03:17 PM   #3
Jeepedjeep
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Jackson, Wisconsin
Posts: 123
I'm doing the same thing and you need to gather after the factory amp then lc8i then amp. I have my amp under the driver side seat both lc8 and amp. Hope this helps.
Jeepedjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-23-2013, 03:24 PM   #4
HouTexs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 94
Ok, so I will tap into the speaker wires after the alpine amp, run the wires back to the Lc8, run the rca inputs from the Lc8 to the amp, and then run the speaker output wires from the amp back up front and spice them into the wires running to each speaker?
HouTexs is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-23-2013, 04:19 PM   #5
Jeepedjeep
Registered User
2013 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Jackson, Wisconsin
Posts: 123
Yes or you could do a complete re-wire. I plan on running new wire to all speakers. The only reason is because I have the wire.
Jeepedjeep is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.